We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic New Years Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Spacious hallway
Wood burning stove
Open plan kitchen/dining room
Living room
Living room
Welcome basket with local produce
Welcome basket
Bedroom with super king size zip link beds
Bathroom with shower over bath
Ensuite bedroom
Ensuite bedroom
Bedroom and ensuite bathroom
En suite bathroom
Complimentary luxury temple spa products
View of garden/parking area from secure garden
Water feature
Lovely dog friendly outdoor space with secure garden
Why not have afternoon tea on the patio?
Water feature
Secure storage for bikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bishop Auckland, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Years Break”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my wife and 10 month old son for 3 nights over New Years and we all had an amazing time. The cottage was immaculate and had everything you could possibly need and more. The lovely owner Ang was there to show us around on arrival and also left us some welcome treats along with bread, milk, eggs, cheese etc - a very nice touch! The cottage was modern with some nice furnishings and had underfloor heating which kept it toasty warm throughout. We will definitely look to book again sometime soon, thanks Ang!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you taking the time to leave such a lovely review, it really is appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would like to come back. It was a pleasure to meet you all and would be great to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cosy luxury, with amazing attention to detail and fantastic welcome”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Angela gave us a warm welcome and explained how everything worked. In addition she has so many useful tips in her literature that it's easy to find a great place to visit or eat at. She also left lovely treats for us - fresh bread, local cheese, filter coffee and a bottle of prosecco! But as far as the cottage is concerned it is just total luxury. Lovely kitchen and dining area with a log burner in the lounge along with current luxury magazines plus books and games. The place is so well equipped and the toiletries really lovely. The furnishings are beautiful and it was the warmest place we have every stayed!! Around and about are great places to walk with train interests and lots of wildlife. Just can't fault it. THANKYOU Angela. See you again soon we hope!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage and our break was perfect.
Liked least: Could not fault it. So much attention to detail.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
What amazing guests I have. The reviews just get better and better. It really does mean a lot that you have taken the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to return. It would be an absolute pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa D
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful cottage with a lovely host,Ang.Everything is immaculate and so well equipped. We will definitely return. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and your time in it. Look forward to seeing you both again. Ang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatziSarg
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ultimate Luxury Indeed!”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival we were greeted by Ang who showed us around this perfect cottage. Everything was sparkling clean and the welcome pack even contained home-made dog treats and a dog tag with the address etc. Remarkable attention to detail, which continued through all the amenities. If you bring a dog there are spare beds, towels, bedding - even a cage! Outside is a WARM spray for washing muddy pets! Amazing.
The cottage is well furnished with comfortable (huge) beds. The en-suite and bathroom have all sorts of lotions and potions supplied. The kitchen is well stocked with anything you could possibly need, including a starter kit with milk, bread, coffee etc. The gardens are well tended with sitting area - we even sat outside, in late October! A sun-trap.
I cannot fault anything, a great place from which to explore the wonderful north-east.
(I inadvertently left a couple of items which Ang posted to me immediately, great service).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it and are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and all it had to offer. It was lovely to meet you all - pleased you brought the lovely weather with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bracken Hill Farm Cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage. So comfortable and well equipped. A lovely welcoming package for us and our dog when we arrived. Very secure and private. A truly lovely place. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review and recommendation. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing