We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
204
61
13
5
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
61
13
5
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel owner family run hotel piping hot and plentiful evening buffet toilet and sink everything ran smoothly no lift every guest coach tour wedding venue definately stay here nothing too much trouble full english breakfast monday to friday on arrival just returned from a night stay comfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Not too bad, decor/carpets could be improved but acceptable. There is a car park onsite, however when we stayed there were no spaces left and we arrived early (before 2). You can park on the road but there is a charge, free after 6 but you pay 7 days a week.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank MandJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Cant complain about our one night stay here. Room was decent and clean except for the toilet had been left unflushed rom the people who had stayed in there before us. We were able to come back at whatever time we wanted after being out in Southport that night. The only issue was that breakfast did take a long time to be served but we can appreciate there were a lot of people waiting for their food as well as us.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Can’t complain about the staff as they were happy to help what ever was asked of them the welcome by the owner was friendly and inviting, the location of the hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from the sea front and 5 minuets to the centre of the shopping area which makes it quiet for a good nights sleep our rooms were clean with comfy beds and the ensuite in both rooms were found to be very clean. Not all rooms ensuite which is something to bare in mind.

We had room 26 which was an adequate size and the bathroom door could possibly need attention, we also had room 30 which again was found to be of adequate size and clean.

The hotel in general would benefit from a fresh modern injection of paint and colour scheme as well as a sweep through with a good maintenance regime to sort out minor things such as room 26 ensuite door handle but this didn’t spoil the stay as it’s a minor thing, which if we have any negatives to point out not that there was any! other than bits that I’d be nit picking at which I see no point in searching for when I stay places to be honest.

Breakfast was cereal and full English which was hot when put in front of us and very nice only thing I would say is it’s possibly a touch small for some folk but we was asked if we wanted any more which is fair enough! One point my mother in law would make is that maybe leave clearing the tables till everybody as finished with there breakfast as things being cleared away as she was still eating her cooked breakfast made her feel rushed. Just advice really again just a minor problem.

Overall for the money charged for the room I think it’s reasonable and would definitely use this hotel again for future visits to Southport and thanks to all the staff in helping make our stay a pleasant one

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank sdownsborough81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Talbot whilst on business in Southport on a very busy weekend in early August. Southport was, apparently, full but whilst checking us in our host also went out of his way to find a room in another hotel for a couple travelling around.
We were impressed with his thoughtfulness and his friendly, helpful attitude. Our room was very comfortable, we slept well, and enjoyed a delicious breakfast.
Convenient location within walking distance of a good range of restaurants. We will happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Judy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful and hotel is in a great location. The room was clean with wardrobe with drawers and a couple of bedside cabinets. The walls were very thin, the guy in the next room kept me awake snoring, sounded like he was next to me. The bed wasn't very comfortable, a bit to soft for my liking. The main light in the room wasn't much use, but there was a florescent light behind the bed, that was way too much, that would have been much better on the ceiling. Someone said on a review that it was a 2 minute walk to the beach front, they must have been on jet propelled roller skates, it's a 10/15 minute walk, also some decent pubs very near the hotel. Breakfast was very good and would probably stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews