We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top fish n chips”
Review of Cheshire Lines Inn

Cheshire Lines Inn
Ranked #6 of 398 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 12
Cuisines: British
Description: In a heritage building a hop, skip and a jump from the iconic Lord Street, Southport is a true mecca for food lovers. Combining a beautiful setting with a magical ambiance, it houses a traditional roaring fire, cosy snug areas and a sun-dappled secret garden.
Restaurant details
Description: In a heritage building a hop, skip and a jump from the iconic Lord Street, Southport is a true mecca for food lovers. Combining a beautiful setting with a magical ambiance, it houses a traditional roaring fire, cosy snug areas and a sun-dappled secret garden.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited Southport for a day out on Good Friday, being by the sea we fancied fish n chips but a lot of cafes were closed... worked out as would rather have eaten here. Best Fish & Chips I've had in a long time. Friendly staff and nice couple of pints as well. I'd definitely visit again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Visited this pub on recommendation, had a lovely meal. We were staying on the caravan site nearby and this was probably about the closest pub. Friendly staff with good food and drinks at reasonable prices.........just our sort of place :)

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AmandaLeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vici B, Manager at Cheshire Lines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us, and for also leaving us such positive feedback.
We hope you visit us again next time you are in Southport, and of course bringing with you our furry friend.

Many thanks again
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent meal in such a historic venue ; lovely friendly atmosphere. Nice garden area to the rear of pub

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank sandgrounder111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vici B, Manager at Cheshire Lines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We absolutely love the history of our pub, and can't wait for a great summer in our new secret garden, I'm so happy you got to experience both of these.
Many thanks for your custom & we hope to see you again very soon

Many thanks
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Food ok but very smoky fire which spoiled the experience. Staff very pleasant but wouldn’t go again in the winter.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank DSandMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vici B, Manager at Cheshire Lines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

I am so sorry that you had to experience such a smoky fire, our fire is normally roaring, and a much talked about feature of our pub. You will be pleased to hear that our fire is now off due to the spring weather and the gates to our secret garden are now open.

Please visit again soon

Many thanks
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I heard through the grapevine that The Cheshire Lines served great food at very reasonable prices. I have been there any times before to watch live bands, but never to eat. I am glad I did. For starters my friend and myself had the garlic bread with mushroom and for the main I had beef stroganoff and my friend had the battered cod. All food served was well presented, well cooked and delicious. Special mention must go to Mark for his great sense of humour, friendliness and attentiveness throughout the evening, must be a Scouser, thanks Mark, see you again soon....

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheshire Lines Inn also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Cheshire Lines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing