We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
452
189
63
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
452
189
63
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews refurbished room sea view deluxe rooms caldey island wedding party roll top bath downstairs bar premier room sunday lunch south beach high standard sea front lovely hotel car park overlooking the beach shower room couldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We love Tenby, always have, but had never stayed at the Giltar. I originally booked another hotel in Tenby, one that when I was younger, was the place to stay, however decided against that due to the terrible TA reviews, so we cancelled there and booked here. I'm so glad we did!

The Giltar is a beautiful hotel, with stunning sea / beach views. We did book the top end in rooms, so I can't comment on what the others would be like. We stayed in St Margarets and it was simply stunning, not cheap at £180 per night.. but beautiful! The bath in the actual room was especially a nice touch.. The only small thing I'd worry about is staying here in the height of summer, as the windows are so vast to offer you that stunning view that is was quite warm in there, and it wasn't boiling outside. There's no air con, or fans - however, they may provide fans in the warmer months.

The hotel has also a few car parking spaces available at the back, which due to the fab location of the hotel was a god send. Just be careful pulling in and out as they are pretty tight.

The breakfast was also superb, choice of pretty much everything, and the cooked breakfast is brought to you, with unlimited toast, jams, juices, coffees and delicious pastries.

Location again is fab, right on the front, and just a 5 minute walk from the town. Especially nice is the little seating areas / gardens across from the hotels where you can enjoy a drink overlooking the stunning sea views of Tenby.

My only small critique is simply that we did not stay longer.... We cannot wait to return here next year..

Room tip: Get a sea view room, well worth the extra!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melwill1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review. It looks like you stayed in our top deluxe room, St Margaret's Suite.

We are able to provide fans for customers. We don't tend to leave them in the room if they are not needed as they can be a little unsightly and take away from the efforts made by our interior designer.

We do hope to see you again. Perhaps take advantage of our 3 for 2 offer throughout the autumn and winter months or come along to one of our tribute nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Tenby and this was down to the wonderful hotel we stayed it,the weather was lovely for the first 3 days,then storm Callum arrived,the staff were very welcoming,pleasant and helpful,nothing was to much trouble,our room was lovely,sea view,bath in the room and also a shower room,the meals we had we lovely,they catered for my Coeliac,toast and I even had a gluten free afternoon tea,had to book that in advance,we really enjoyed our stay at the Giltar hotel,I highly recommend,if visiting this part of South Wales.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's a shame about the weather towards the end of your stay but hopefully the room was nice and cosy for you - it can be quite relaxing watching the storms from the large bay windows! We hope to see you again soon at the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Our room was very nice but the view was of a side of another building. Our friends had a sea view room and it was lovely. In a good location for everything and the breakfast was lovely with plenty of it. Very friendly staff

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank momik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry that you weren't happy with view. If you'd let us know on the day we could have seen if another sea view room was available. If you do visit us again, please let us know when you are booking so that we can accommodate you as best we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

I was looking for place to take my wife out for Sunday lunch in tenby have stayed at the hotel before and found it good so decided to book all started good was shown to seats and drink order taken all good then food order taken we both asked for mushrooms to start and then beef dinner all ok then starters arrived my wife then said that the mushrooms are cold and I tried my food also cold so was sent back they then came back and still not very warm but better so not good start then beef dinner was served good selection of veg but beef was poor both had to work hard to cut poor beef so we did not have deserts and payed bill 42.00 so not cheap

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Allan2961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

We're very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied on your recent trip to our restaurant. I have passed this feedback onto the team for full investigation to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Great food, great service, everything spot on, really enjoyed or Sunday lunch, we both had roast beef, it came with loads of vegetables with everything done to our liking. Will definitely visit again when in the area. We weren't staying in the hotel but was made very welcome.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank anthonye971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

So pleased you enjoyed your lunch and you will always be welcome to come again. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews