We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb evening meal. Book ahead, it's worth it!”
Review of The Fat Seagull

The Fat Seagull
Ranked #13 of 131 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Fat Seagull ethos is simple- select the best quality ingredients, cook simply with skill, passion and love then add special touches such as double cooked rustic chips, our own very special mini-roasts or the famous Pembrokeshire new potatoes... delicious
Restaurant details
Description: The Fat Seagull ethos is simple- select the best quality ingredients, cook simply with skill, passion and love then add special touches such as double cooked rustic chips, our own very special mini-roasts or the famous Pembrokeshire new potatoes... delicious
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Lucky to get a table early this evening and many being turned away after we sat down. Got a roomy table for six luckily and did not feel crowded at all. It may well be a cafe by day, but the evening menu was thoughtful and well priced for us. Menu was right up our street with mixture of snacks and heart mains. Something for all in the family. It was steak night, 8oz with chips and salad for tenner, 16oz was £15. Bottle of red £10. Also ordered were these amazing chicken escalopes (huge) and fish cakes. It was superb. Lovely people running the place, so friendly and welcoming. Meat locally sourced, and so well cooked (rare and to perfection) and full of flavour. Home made chips were nice, plus excellent home made onion rings. Nice interior decor, clean and tidy throughout. Certainly worth booking ahead, and after walking back, saw the place was packed full of locals and tourists as it was earlier. Ideal place for families, and a nice atmosphere too. Certainly not failing to be a restaurant at all and with a tasty menu using local produce, what's not to like. Will visit for sure next time I'm in Tenby.

Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thankyou so much for your kind and complimentary review. It has restored my faith in humanity after the last one !! Everyone at the cafe / restaurant works really hard to make it feel homely and welcoming. We try hard to overcome our many space restrictions !
We have 2 amazing chef’s , they are both fully trained and have worked in some of the top hotels in Europe , All our waitresses are trained to be attentive and helpful and to put customer service first . They will be pleased you noticed as I am always banging on about it !
Your review was very detailed and covered many aspects of the menu etc , Thankyou for that . We do try to make our menus family friendly . I’m so glad you were pleased , and more so that you enjoyed your evening and your steak and wine etc .nice to know you got a rare steak perfectly cooked ... it’s our pleasure to serve customers like you and we hope to see you again in the future. You will be very welcome .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

From the outside this place looked nice but after sitting down at the cramped tables and being served a meal with inedible chips, looks are obviously deceiving!!! This place is basically a sandwich shop/cafe that tries to become a restaurant on the evening and fails. The broken toilet seat in the one and only toilet for both sexes didn’t add to the experience either!!!!

2  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

You visited our cafe on an offer night of a steak for £10 and wine for £10 . It was only the 2 nd week of the offer and it was inundated . I took the time to look back at other reviews you have written and out of approximately 17 reviews , about 14 of them are 1* , and about another 3 are 2* . Sums you up perfectly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for a nice afternoon treat! Wish we picked somewhere else, a full menu of ice cream treats advertised yet no ice cream available this wasn't mentioned until we were ready to order. So we opted for 3 crepes instead! No idea why it took 40 minutes to make 3 crepes, no apology for the wait either, one table had already given up waiting and left, wish we'd left too! The tables were also very close together with us having continuously having to apologise to the table behind us. Next time we visit Tenby we will be staying well away from this establishment

1  Thank Poppy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thankyou for initially choosing our cafe as somewhere to have an enjoyable afternoon . I’m really sorry that you had this experience . Customer service is number 1 to me and we let you down on your visit . As for the Icecream, there was Icecream there and I don’t understand why you were told that there wasn’t . I can only assume that they ran out - yesterday was one of the busiest days we have ever had . The young girl making your pancakes was told that a table had cancelled and thought it was yours . No excuses, we got it wrong and sincerely apologise. I know they didn’t charge you for them , but If you would like to telephone me , I would like to be able to book you in and give you the experience you should have had on the house . After you spoke to the young waitress, who is on school holiday , she was in tears and we must make sure incidents are always dealt with by the manager and hopefully then they can reach a better outcome .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We called in mid morning and had pancakes and coffees. The staff were welcoming, the place has a bistro feel and is definitely worth a visit. We will go back later in the day next time as the wine and Gin choice looked good.

Thank MarkStaffs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We dashed in for a quick sandwich to avoid the rain. It was a really great choice, tasty food, not expensive, nice and cosy, friendly staff, will try it again next time we are in Tenby.

1  Thank nandkroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Seagull also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing