We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Royston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent campsite”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Just got back from a week camping at Hidden Valley. The pitches are really big and flat, shower blocks are very clean. The grounds are really beautiful and well looked after. Will definitely camp there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    111
    36
    17
    16
See reviews for
165
181
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

On a practical note, access to Hidden Valley Park is directly off the A361, for touring units, perfect, no narrow country roads or steep inclines to worry about. When you enter the park you can feel the tranquilty of the place immediately, quiet with lovely surroundings. The park is very clean, neat and tidy, it has an excellent woodland walk and it is dog friendly, so you have plenty of space to walk your pet without disturbing anybody. The surrounding area has much to offer, three wonderful beaches at Saunton Sands, Woollocombe and Croyde, a choice of nice country pubs where you can have lunch/dinner after a long walk or a day on the beach. For those who like country houses, there is Arlington Court not far away, a National Trust site where, again, if you do have pets, dogs are welcome in the grounds and can share your Devon cream tea. Of course, there is also Exmoor on the doorstep to investigate. The park is a family run business and they take great pride and work hard all year round in keeping the park to a high standard and they are always there to help. Hidden Valley Park is a perfect place for a holiday in North Devon, we would not go anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2011

was brilliant....very friendly staff....we rolled in with no booking on easter weekend and they put us up in a very spacious spot. going back this weekend for longer this time.
has play park, forest, and you can even have a bath!!! they have showers where you are alowed to wash out your wetsuits....very unusual!!
would recomend to friends dog friendly!

Room Tip: smile and be friendly........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrib04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Have just spent a lovely week at this campsite as a family and with grandparents in our fifth wheeler. The play area for the children was really well thought out and there was even a stream nearby where they could build dams and just have a general splash around. The staff were really great and very accommodating, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. They had a lovely coffee area (which did lovely homemade cream teas!) and there was a communal TV, lots of books to read and games for children to do. Whilst the early part of the week the weather was unkind it soon picked up and the beauty of the park really shone through. There were good washing facilities and the showers and toilets were very clean. There was plenty to do in the area each day but it was nice to come back in the evening and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. Although there was a main road nearby you could hear very little of it.
Would we go back again - yes it would be a pleasure but Devon County Council really do need to look at access roads in and around Braunton to make life easier for the traveller.

Room Tip: Dont go to campsites in august and expect peace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crusing97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I was looking forward to staying at this place, but was deeply disappointed in what i found. I read all the reviews (or I thought I did) and thought great this is the place for us, peaceful and a beautiful place to stay. But in reality, imagine you are a long way off from shops, so what you might say that's ok we have a car but you run out of something stupid or you forgot to take something which you are going to need an essential like tent pegs. Go to the site shop they are sure to have some it's a camp site after all, but no, no tent pegs, nails yes, oh yes folks nails 9 inch nails.
These new owners are either non campers if so what are they doing in this business or they just don't care enough. If you challenge them with a complaint they manage to blame someone else, running out of gas so no hot water but that was someone elses fault , washing machines running out of electric on the meter before the cycle had finished so that was down to the washing machine repair man when it was clearly not. The cafe that is advertised from the road as open all are welcome cream tea's etc. But it doesn't say closes at 4pm so if you want a meal (had one wouldn't have another) in the evening say around 5pm tough you can't go and cook your own, no chip shops close by so either have to cook or use your car again. This site is getting more and more less eco friendly. It's encourageing you to go 5 or 6 miles to the nearest shop to get what you want. I don't mind paying a little extra for food on site rather than spending on yet more fuel. My husband wanted just one peice of bread and butter to go with his not so interesting meal and was promptly told No I don't do bread and butter, yet they do sandwiches. What is wrong with this woman (the owner) ?

The showers are brilliant that was the best thing in the toilet and shower block. But, the taps in the toilets as someone else has said they either stick and don't turn off or they just don't work, I noticed some of the sinks were a bit slimy with bits in the plug hole, considering there were only 8 tents on site at the time and I checked at the end of the week and it was still the same so draw your own conclusions.

My dog enjoyed the fast running stream (not river) that ran through the camp so she was happy. The lake which is more like a large pond was ok. Looking at the site it looks really nice with all the trees, thats what attracted me to the park, but I know of another site which is similar where I have stayed before I think I will be going back there. This has taught me a lesson stick with what you know if it's good. Don't want to mention any names but it's near Berrynarbor I think?

The owners have only been there since May, so I'm told. I hope they soon learn to be a bit more accommodating and helpful (which they are not at the moment) it's a shame because they seem like really nice people and I would hate for such a nice site to go bad, but I'm not willing to pay the prices they charge for amenities and facilities that don't seem to exist anymore.

Good luck if you are booked in I sincerely hope you have a good holiday .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
7.7 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,708 reviews
5.6 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
754 reviews
6.3 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
6.1 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
309 reviews
5.5 km away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Property: Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Address: West Down, Ilfracombe EX34 8NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): $16 - $57
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the rolling hills of North Devon and open all year, Hidden Valley Touring Caravan and Holiday Park is justly proud of its growing list of awards. These include the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, its 5 Star rating by 'Visit England', winners of the 'Holiday Park of the Year' and just last year we were honoured with the new AA 5 Pennants Award. Whether you are looking for a campsite to pitch your tent or touring caravan spaces, our Devon campsite provides it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing