We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
37
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade biscuits trained chef night stay stunning house fabulous hotel full english breakfast hospitality tray on arrival high standard bed was very comfortable nothing is too much trouble poached eggs warm welcome bonnie pickles hosts dog
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

After arriving in a somewhat damp Ilfracombe after a five hour drive we were hoping for something a bit special – and we were not disappointed. The welcome was probably one of the best I have ever experienced; nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The hotel is relatively new and we discovered there are many plans in the pipeline to enhance and better the experience- not that any were needed. Spotlessly clean well-proportioned en- suite rooms with incredibly comfortable beds are just part of the story. Our hosts Bonnie and Betty were nothing short of excellent always going that extra mile for guests that needed it. Almost every night was spent in the bar just chatting and laughing and playing with pickles!! While not the cheapest, you get what you pay for and Westwell Hall is worth every penny ! .

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninsis, Owner at Westwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly enjoyed having you here. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon. B&B(&P)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

A look at the 1889 map of Ilfracombe tells you all you need to know about Westwell Hall, for it sits on the hills at the very edge of town, one the town's grandest Victorian halls in one the finest of locations. Over time, the grounds have shrunk to a still-generous 0.6 acres, but as one walks up to the house for the first time you still can't help but be impressed by the hall's imposing grandeur.
But the real surprises lie indoors, for the hall has been given a beautiful and modern makeover, whilst being faithful to the old character of this fine building. Much of the work has been undertaken in the past year or so by the hotel's energetic owners, and the result is very smart, very comfortable and spotlessly clean - more home than hotel.
My breakfasts were impeccably presented, generous and delicious: the grilled tomatoes and poached eggs (on a bed of avocado) were as good as any I have tasted, and I am sure that the more traditional 'full English' would be equally moreish. The hotel has a well-stocked bar as well - always welcome!
However, the real stars of the hotel are the hosts, Betty and Bonnie, who are generous, welcoming and helpful to a fault - happy to ring round restaurants or order taxis in my case.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninsis, Owner at Westwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you Andy, for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and were really impressed with your knowledge of Dahlias. Cafe au lait anyone? We hope the sand dunes bring you our way again soon. B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Boy meets girl. Both are shy, but then...boy marries girl.

But enough about us. My beloved and I attended the marriage of a childhood friend. In her case, she met a boy (with a jolly truncheon), they had a couple of kids (when he wasn’t keeping the nation safe)...and they decided to get married, in the Tunnels.

She was beautiful (as was my wife). The groom was handsome (I was hungover).

But -

What helped us immensely was staying in the beautiful, perfectly located Westwell Hall. It’s run by two amazing ladies, with exquisite taste, hearty humour and for whom no request is too excessive (picture receiving breakfast at 05:30 for a loooonnnng drive to London).

But it is Pickle who really runs the place.

If you want a beautiful place to stay with friendly service, good food, then do try this place. We’re looking forward to returning soon.

And if it was located in Telford instead of picturesque Ilfracombe, we’d still return. It’s that lovely.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Woz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninsis, Owner at Westwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Ah, thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you soon, (Pickle especially) B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Westwell Hall! It is an impressive building with lots of character, and the owners have really put their stamp on it with a creative vision coupled with lots of original features. Bonnie and Betty could not have been more welcoming or accommodating, sharing their local knowledge of where to visit and making suggestions of places to eat in Ilfracombe. The combination of their kindness and a beautiful setting makes this a perfect place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninsis, Owner at Westwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you Samuel, it was lovely having you to stay. It is great for us to see guests making the most of all Ilfracombe has to offer. We hope you can come again soon, B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

It is impossible to fault this lovely place. Outstanding accommodation, beautifully presented with a great deal of careful thought given to your every comfort. This wonderful old property boasts lovely views over the surrounding town, countryside and the sea. High end and high standards without standing on ceremony, this place is kept spotlessly clean and run with love and flair by the three friendliest hosts you could ever hope for: yes, I am including Pickle the dog as a host!

Perfectly located, set in wonderful secluded but spacious gardens, walking distance or a short cab ride from a range of excellent restaurants and bars, many of them specialising in sea-food. We had a wonderful five-night stay and found the place to be an absolute delight. Thank you Bonnie, Biddi (and Pickle!) for looking after us with so much kindness.

Room tip: Book direct - the hosts are so keen to help!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaWilliams999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninsis, Owner at Westwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

It was an absolute pleasure to have you here, we hope you can come again soon. B&B (&P)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews