We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harcourt Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 98
USD 95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sherborne Lodge(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wildercombe House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 116
USD 113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 131
USD 127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sea Breeze House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 99
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 87
USD 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Olive Branch(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
47
13
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
13
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was excellenttea coffee hot chocolatehonesty barmr mrscomfortable bedlast minute bookingbottled waterlovely housefull english breakfastyogurtshort staywould stay here againwalking distancestayed for one nightexcellent stayheatherdog
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Heather is a perfect host and makes you very welcome straight away. The house is decorated so lovely with many original features which makes you feel like your staying in a traditional B&B. Breakfast was perfect especially the coffee! Room was lovely very clean with everything provided for our needs. Would recommend this guest house for anyone wishing to experience the real thing! :))

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Although it states there are steps up to property I didnt see the detail until after I'd booked . The steps are quite steep and not suitable for older people with mobility prbllems .once inside hotel owner very pleasent cannot do enough for you rooms comfortable and allowed accesss anytime .braekfast good choice and cooked to your order .overall cannot fault my stay.

Room Tip: Accessibility difficult /no lift
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

As with all places there are good aspects and possible areas for improvement.

Pros.......
Walking distance to seafront and town
Clean
Very comfortable bed
Honesty bar
Some parking (spaces are quite tight)
Tea/coffee/hot chocolate / biscuits/ bottled water in your room
Full English Breakfast
Toiletries provided
Tv in room
Hair dryer in room
Very helpful owner

Cons......
The place had the aroma of an old stately home
If you do not like a cooked breakfast the options are limited to cereal, yogurt, prunes, tinned grapefruit and toast. No pastries or croissants etc
Bathroom required updating (plastic light over mirror, wood chip wallpaper etc was out of keeping with the style of the main building).

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems you may find the stairs an issue.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S, Owner at Strathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, all reviews are appreciated, as I cannot improve things if I am unaware of any problems. First may I say I am pleased you found Strathmore value for money, clean and comfortable, this is always good to hear. I am also pleased you found all the room facilities satisfactory, however I am sorry you found the breakfast selection unsatisfactory, I take on board that I do not offer croissants or pastries, but having tried this in the past and most of the croissants and pastries being left and having to be binned I found this not to be cost effective only being a small bed and breakfast, however with a choice of 6 cereals, 2 fruits, natural and fruit yogurts with a choice of toast, and 99% of my customers having cooked breakfast, have found this to be more that satisfactory. I am unsure of which bedroom you were allocated, however I can assure you that I am in the process of doing up the bathrooms having completed 3 bathrooms last winter,I am sure you understand I can only afford so much per year, but the aim is to do all the bathrooms over the next few years, but keeping on top of all other things at the same time. Once again thank you for leaving your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

What a joy Heather is, a very happy and welcoming lady, nothing is too much for her, very comfortable and spacious family room, even had a fridge. Plenty to eat at breakfast with a wide selection to chose from. Will definitely come back again. Would recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Scoobymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

It's a lovely quiet friendly place well worth a visit good food and coffee cakes nice people and Ilfracombe is lovely and all surrounded earera, I'd go back and walk all the coast up to coommartin then get the bus back over looks the sea all the way lovely 5 miles walk, all the best enjoy, Paul

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews