We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
51
14
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
14
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stately home tea coffee hot chocolate full english breakfast honesty bar comfortable bed last minute booking bottled water peace and quiet lovely house yogurt would stay here again walking distance b and b three nights heather poppy dog
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Although it states there are steps up to property I didnt see the detail until after I'd booked . The steps are quite steep and not suitable for older people with mobility prbllems .once inside hotel owner very pleasent cannot do enough for you rooms comfortable and allowed accesss anytime .braekfast good choice and cooked to your order .overall cannot fault my stay.

Room tip: Accessibility difficult /no lift
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

As with all places there are good aspects and possible areas for improvement.

Pros.......
Walking distance to seafront and town
Clean
Very comfortable bed
Honesty bar
Some parking (spaces are quite tight)
Tea/coffee/hot chocolate / biscuits/ bottled water in your room
Full English Breakfast
Toiletries provided
Tv in room
Hair dryer in room
Very helpful owner

Cons......
The place had the aroma of an old stately home
If you do not like a cooked breakfast the options are limited to cereal, yogurt, prunes, tinned grapefruit and toast. No pastries or croissants etc
Bathroom required updating (plastic light over mirror, wood chip wallpaper etc was out of keeping with the style of the main building).

Room tip: If you have mobility problems you may find the stairs an issue.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S, Owner at Strathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, all reviews are appreciated, as I cannot improve things if I am unaware of any problems. First may I say I am pleased you found Strathmore value for money, clean and comfortable, this is always good to hear. I am also pleased you found all the room facilities satisfactory, however I am sorry you found the breakfast selection unsatisfactory, I take on board that I do not offer croissants or pastries, but having tried this in the past and most of the croissants and pastries being left and having to be binned I found this not to be cost effective only being a small bed and breakfast, however with a choice of 6 cereals, 2 fruits, natural and fruit yogurts with a choice of toast, and 99% of my customers having cooked breakfast, have found this to be more that satisfactory. I am unsure of which bedroom you were allocated, however I can assure you that I am in the process of doing up the bathrooms having completed 3 bathrooms last winter,I am sure you understand I can only afford so much per year, but the aim is to do all the bathrooms over the next few years, but keeping on top of all other things at the same time. Once again thank you for leaving your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

What a joy Heather is, a very happy and welcoming lady, nothing is too much for her, very comfortable and spacious family room, even had a fridge. Plenty to eat at breakfast with a wide selection to chose from. Will definitely come back again. Would recommend

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scoobymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

It's a lovely quiet friendly place well worth a visit good food and coffee cakes nice people and Ilfracombe is lovely and all surrounded earera, I'd go back and walk all the coast up to coommartin then get the bus back over looks the sea all the way lovely 5 miles walk, all the best enjoy, Paul

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank paulpF6934NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I stayed for one night at the Strathmore on Sunday 19th March 2017 whilsrt visiting family nearby. My room was very clean, comfortable and cosy and I understand that a new bathroom had recently been fitted in the room I was staying in, it was certainly very modern clean and well fitted out. The breakfast was excellent, although I opted not to have the full english breakfast, what I did have was very well cooked and tasty.The dining room is very Welcoming and everything is very well laid out, the teapot was of a very generous size and was a "proper" tea pot, not the usual metal ones that you often get in some places. The landlady,Heather, was a delightfull lady who was very warm welcoming and friendly and for who nothing was too much trouble. Even though I only had a short stay I would certainly stay there again and would recommend any friends visiting the area to do the same.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P8459ELrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews