We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
78
42
26
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
42
26
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering games room warm swimming pool water wheel devonshire countryside north devon table football delicious cream tea working order family break stream running woolacombe beach lovely place milton philip emus tennis
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely accommodation. Clean, comfy and great for whole the family including the dog. Friendly owners and great facilities. Warm swimming pool with gym and sauna. Games room to keep the kids happy. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Family Room
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Donna,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to leave such a lovely review. It's always good to hear that our guests have made use of all the facilities we have on offer and have thoroughly enjoyed their visit.

We really hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future.

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Great for our extended family to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Use of the hotel heated indoor pool was great when the weather was poor. The water was lovely and warm and suitable even for our 5 month-old grandson. The games room table tennis really enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sharpe702018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review following your stay at Trimstone Manor. We are sorry that you had some poor weather during your stay, but we are pleased that the swimming pool helped to fill those damp days and that it was even suitable for your young grandson. The games room is always a hit, especially with the children!

If you are ever looking to holiday in North Devon again, we hope that you will consider returning to Trimstone Manor.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

When reviewing its important to remember the price v rating. This is a 3 star accommodation and is advertised as such . I stayed one night as a business stop audit was fine . The room was outdated but as a 3 star it had what I needed . Bed was comfortable and I had great nights sleep . Room was fairly warm though and couldn't get the wind to stay open . The bathroom is old and at first glance a bit lacking , however the shower was wonderfully powerful and puts many Prem Inns to shame .Not sure the notices above the toilet stuck up using drawing pins help the quality feel .
The building in wonderful , its old so dont expect a straight line anywhere as you won't find it which is the character that so many places would cry out for.
The lounge is comfy but the furniture tired, the team very friendly and helpful.
I realise that my business is not the target audience so if you are on business there is no food mid week and breakfast is not until 8 am . This proved to late in the day for me and I am disappointed I did stay to try , perhaps another time.
Ilfracombe is a short hop and no end of restaurants .

My only disappointment was that I did not get enough time to explore the grounds and try the pool .
My hat goes off to the owners for keeping an old and probably expensive building running , thank you .

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Sammy509

Thank you very much for your kind review. Thank you for the notes you have made too - we can look into some of them!

Sorry about breakfast - we are always happy to consider an early breakfast but just need to know in advance for staffing, that's all.

Glad you had a good night's rest in our characterful and homely property. You are right though - it is a constant job of work maintaining and upgrading as we go but not to detract from the feel of the place.

And we are very happy to welcome business guests any time of the year and soon we'll have the fastest guest Wifi in the whole area.

We shall very much look forwrad to seeing you again and perhpas we shall be able to upgrade you to a Double room as well then for more space and amenities.

All good wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

This place is run down. It is isolated and private. The gardens need attention and the outdoor furniture was in poor repair, dirty and unusable. The main building has dated decor, although the staff were friendly and helpful.

There is a pervasive smell of damp on entry to a self catering block. The beds are lumpy and springy, although the bed linen was very nice. The living area is small and the easy chair/sofas were stained. Equipment such as crockery and pans was good although frying pans were burned.

There is an indoor swimming pool which afforded fun and we used three times. There is plenty of land so a drying area for wet towels etc would be of benefit, especially as it is so close to one of the country’s best beaches at Woolacombe.

If Trimstone Manor was refurbished and modernised and the gardens upgraded it would be a good venue for weddings and parties as it is so private. It would also benefit from a restaurant with an accomplished chef, rather than the Friday and Saturday dinner only option they offer now.

In its present condition I would not recommend it, especially as the cost of renting self-catering is very high at £1500 a week during peak season.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank myraboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

We are sorry "MyraBoyle of Blackpool" felt as she did. At £1300 for a 6-berth cottage at the peak coast (Woolacombe), peak season it is not dear. We are 3 stars not 5 stars. We are clear what we offer & it seemed they enjoyed the facilities & the pool - everything is inclusive & they went home a day early, reducing value to them. We spend an inordinate amount of time on maintenance & improvement (over £1million since we moved here).

We are a characterful property with roots back before the Domesday Book & we feel privileged to live here as custodians. We live on site & employ 2 full-time property men & to respond when anything goes awry (as it will) - we only have 6 cottages. If they had mentioned anything which was not good, (often of which we are not aware until a guest tells us) we should have attended to it instantly. I can't imagine these being shy on coming forward but instead it seems they preferred to keep a list to use to post a negative review as that is quite sad when they were here to enjoy themselves.

If they want brand new, Ikea-style, why come? The cottage, after the hottest and driest summers since 1976 is not 'damp'. 'Very cold' on 11 August? We put the central heating-on for them too so they could have whatever temperature wanted. She describes the Cottage facilities but booked it based on the description and the pictures on the website. If she wanted a bigger one, she could have booked one. The garden furniture is mainly wooden benches - they don't tend to rust.

We are only 1/3rd of a mile from the main A361 artery into N Devon but you come here to enjoy the quiet, safety and seclusion we love. If you are party animals don't come as we don't cater for you. We are registered for weddings and have large parties here as well and the occasional group booking which takes the whole Place. We want the sort of people who come who like what we are doing and trying to do and for the fair prices we charge for a robust & dependable service and not 5 stars at premium cost. The guests who left the same Cottage on these guests' arrival day have been many times and are coming back after having loved it. Their lovely comments in the Cottage Guest book on the day of your arrival noting how clean and tidy in was and what a lovely time they have had must have rankled! It is still a shame that any guests don't enjoy their family time whilst here.

Yours faithfully

Trimstone Manor Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

my husband and i had cream tea at trimstone manor
we were way to early .the young lady that served us was really helpful and polite.
she sorted every think out for us with no problem
even the chief came out to make sure every think was perfect
It was a lovely afternoon and myself and my husband really enjoyed it
your staff were brilliant and the cream tea was fantastic thank you for a lovely afternoon
sharon ken se london sunday 18th august 2018

Room Tip: we didnt stay here but i wished id book it .so pretty
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Sharon S

Just a short note to thank you so much for your very kind comments. I have circulated them around the Staff so they have been able to see and appreciate them.

We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us when you visited.

Please do free welcome to come again and we shall very much look forward to serving you once more!

It is always lovely to receive such comment and especially to appreciate the hard efforts of the staff - none of us is perfect but sometimes in hospitality people come with a negatively critical spirit and it is always harder then to please them and they are more likely to not have such a lovely time - which is always a shame.

Thank you again and looking forward to that return visit to stay!

All good wihses

Philip J Milton - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews