We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
422
22
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
422
22
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karen russ executive suite filtered water build your own thatched inn homemade preserves perfect hosts cooked to perfection guest house sea view take great pride warm welcome small hotel hotel is spotless wonderful hotel night stay nothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

A very friendly, comfortable b&b that the owners, Karen and Russ, maintain to the highest standard. The room was lovely with a good view of the sea. Very good breakfast, well positioned for the Lundy ferry and restaurants in the town. As they prepare for the new season they are going to carry out some refurbishment by I can’t think of any part of this place that needs it! I guess it’s that attitude that keeps it as good as it is. Would stay again and thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank julianh543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This was a really surprising hotel. Driving down the high street in Ilfracombe, we really wondered whether we had made a good decision to stay in this town - it seemed a bit down at heel. However the welcome from Karen and Russ soon dispelled our concerns. They are wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was also great, and nothing was too much trouble. Karen and Russ gave us information about where to go, places to eat and answered our questions. A really great two nights. If we go back to Ilfracombe, we will certainly stay at Marine Court again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Karen and Russ are the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. The room was impeccably appointed, immaculately clean, as is the entire establishment. Russ prepared a breakfast second to none and his homemade conserves were gorgeous.

We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Marine Court and can’t wait to go back again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jonathanrD3303FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My room and the public areas are absolutely immaculately kept. The owners are friendly while not being intrusive - and were kind enough to even provide me with some toothpaste which I had inadvertently arrived without! It is in the style of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel - more informal and friendlier - but it does have a bar - as well as a pub directly opposite. It is clearly catering more for holiday makers than business travellers but were entirely accommodating including providing me with early breakfasts. The room outside and the hotel itself were wonderfully quiet on both nights I stayed. I found the location good as it is also just a short walk down to the harbour in Ilfracombe. It wouldn't however be a good location for those with limited mobility as it is (only) a short walk from the car park - but uphill.

Room tip: The suite I had was roomy - and quiet even though the bedroom is at the front onto the road.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Russ & Karen are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. They provide a excellent breakfast with a good choice. The room we had was very clean and tidy.
The hotel is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the harbour and town, it also provides a safe car park. We highly recommend this quest house, a real home from home.

Room tip: We chose the see view.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews