We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GORGEOUS!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with panoramic sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with panoramic sea views
Living room View over Capstone from living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Living room with panoramic sea views
Living room
View over Capstone from living room
View from Living Room
Kitchen
Master bedroom with floor to ceiling windows
View over Capstone from master bedroom
View from Master Bedroom
Twin room
Twin room
Bathroom
Clockroom
The front of the terrace
Apartment
Allocated parking
Sunset from Living Room
Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisaward4...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“GORGEOUS!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On The Rocks really is a gorgeous apartment. It is spotlessly clean and all the decor is beautiful and so tasteful.
The view when you first walk in is literally breathtaking, in fact it's breathtaking everytime you walk back into the apartment!
It's all very well equipped to a very high standard. The double bed is extremely comfortable and warm. The welcome milk in the fridge and tea and coffee is a lovely touch.
It's just a couple of minutes walk to the high street and just under 10 minutes to the harbour which is beautiful, such a lovely place to sit and relax. The walk back is up a steep hill,although I am unwell and not fit I managed it perfectly well at my own pace and it was definitely worth it to stay in that apartment.
All of the correspondence with the owners was very efficient and friendly.
We really haven't got anything negative to point out. We had a wonderful relaxing week in a beautiful apartment which we would highly recommend and we very much look forward to returning!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view.
Liked least: Cannot think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment with a fantastic view”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely apartment with lots of nice touches that made it feel like home. The apartment has been nicely decorated, is well maintained, and had everything we needed for our stay. Although up a steep hill it's worth the climb to be able to sip a glass of wine in the lounge and enjoy the view of the sea (and to watch the 6 sheep in the field opposite who also managed to keep us amused). The bed was very comfortable and the owners provide plenty of fluffy towels plus a good selection of books and DVDs. We did struggle with the BT wifi but this wouldn't stop us staying at this pretty apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable apartment / Great view
Liked least: The wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tealy123
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from our weeks stay. It was perfect. Location was great with walking distance to lfracombe. Lots of amazing places and beaches to visit within a short drive. Apartment had everything we could have possibly needed plus lots of little extras. Our son loved the choice of DVDs that were available in the apartment. Kitchen well equipped. Loads of extras for babies and children sub as changing mat, baby towels and blankets. To top it all off an amazing sea view from the large window. Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great flat, all you could wish for”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Jim and Lynn, thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful flat - On the Rocks. It is a splendid property and we have thoroughly enjoyed our week here. We had breakfast and a few dinners with the curtains wide open enjoying the great view. My wife particularly liked looking at the sheep!
The flat is very well laid out and had everything we could possibly have wised for.
If we are ever in this part of the world again, we will look up On the Rocks to see if it is available.
One suggestion - a visitors' book to allow guests to write comments.
Thanks again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flat condition, and the views whilst we ate breakfast or dinner
Liked least: Car park at the rear with steps to the flat - very minor complaint
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiseFra...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All about the view”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Absolutely beautiful apartment. Really well equipped with quality products. Lovely decoration and everything really well kept. But the first thing you notice (and keep on noticing) is the beautiful view from the main bedroom and living room windows. We had a wonderful relaxing week.
A couple of things to note: the bathroom is accessed via the second bedroom but there is a cloakroom so if visitors are using that room I wouldn't think there would be any inconvenience. Also, the apartment can only be accessed from the rear of the property. There is a parking space allocated which is well marked, however it isn't obvious which set of spaces belongs to number 12. It could do with being painted on the wheelie bins. The property is built on a hill and there are fairly steep steps down from the parking area to the door. We didn't have any problems with it and aren't especially fit, but I can see that anyone with mobility issues would struggle badly. On the other hand, Ilfracombe is built on and surrounded by steep hills which are difficult to avoid so probably not the best choice for people who have problems with mobility anyway.
Ilfracombe itself has lots of restaurants and a nice little town to walk around. We visited the cinema which is very good value, especially one afternoon a week when the admission price includes a hot drink and biscuits.
I would recommend this apartment for a holiday and would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing