We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been coming to the Darnley for some years and keep coming back.”
Review of The Darnley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Darnley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I cannot agree with the review given from the person with a "Puppy". I have an elderly dog who had an accident in the hallway. Very embarrased I told Sue and Peter and instantly Sue arrived with a bucket and mop and cleared it up for me.
We have been going to the Darnley for over 9 years and have always been treated well and as friends returning.
There are not a lot of places that take dogs when one does not like leaving them in kennels.

Room Tip: rooms clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank refinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife And I stay at the Darnley Hotel two or three times a year it is such a friendly hotel its like going to visit family our dog loves all the fuss we have also spent the last six xmas at the hotel there is all ways a warm welcome.
The food is excellent and they grow all there own veg

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We found the Darnley a few years ago, and have been visiting every summer since. The facilities are absolutely perfect for us, and the food - all home-cooked, and much of it home-grown - is exceptional (and ridiculously cheap). The service is professional without being stuffy, and the relaxed atmosphere created by the proprietors gives you that "holiday" feeling from the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I recently (26/28-11-2010) spent a very rewarding three days in Devon made more so via the welcome offered by the owners of ' The Darnley Hotel and the peaceful atmosphere that prevailed within. My room was very comfortable despite the arctic weather conditions outside. The Darnley has been the first hotel I've stayed in which comes complete with it's own Jester. Peter's humour flowed at meal times which added to the excellent food served.
Most adult age groups were represented from the late 20's to the near 70's complete with dog and in observation of body language and facial expression found no evidence of discord.
Observational Foot Notes.
It was noted that when the dog arrived it was exercised a little on leaving the car to prevent little accidents within the hotel.
Granted the car parking is a little restrictive but hopefully drivers do so in accordance with prevailing circumstances which includes parking (Highway Code).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vulcan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Excellent small hotel. Home cooking. Very clean and tidy. Plenty of parking. Near to centre of Ilfracombe. Owners are very kind and friendly and Peter, in particular, has a wicked sense of humour - prepare to be teased and tease in return!!!
Thank you for a lovely 3 day stay. We hope to be back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larden04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
1.1 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
4.0 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 km away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ilfracombe

Been to The Darnley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darnley Hotel

Address: 3 Belmont Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $91 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Darnley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent family run hotel. The building was built in 1921 and still retains many of it's original features. Set in it's own private gardens, but a short walk down to the town centre and high street shops and the beach. We also have two self catering cottages both sleeping just four persons, set in our gardens with amazing views over Ilfracombe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Darnley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darnley Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing