We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wildercombe House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 97
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sherborne Lodge(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harcourt Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 129
USD 125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
USD 86
USD 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Olive Branch(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
USD 157
USD 145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
13
18
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
18
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Booked this on a last minute type web site. Lovely room at the front of the house. The owner was slightly concerned about where i was and she called me to make I was ok. In fact I was a few minutes away from the guest house. Lovely breakfast on Sunday morning with a good view onto the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We booked this guest house by chance on Laterooms.com for a short notice trip to the coast, my only criteria being a seaview.

Upon arriving at the guest house we found the owners to be kind and gracious with a sense of humour to match. The Victorian building was in a good shape considering the age and proximity to the sea and the owners do well to keep it up.

Large variety for breakfast which we enjoyed and the view was stunning.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Mattress and pillows need upgrading,shower was a mere trickle,good location,good breakfast.Seagull nesting outside window was novel but noisy.Nice view but lots of stairs,not given room pictured when booked.

Room Tip: Not top floor
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteboardy3532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

this is a nice traditional B&B, very well located just a few yards from the harbour. Up a short slope and right on the cliff edge, some bedrooms on the rear and the dining room have wonderful views out to sea. Our room No.2 on the first floor was warm and cosy with a great view and was very comfortable for our two night stay. Excellent breakfast cooked to order, ample portions with friendly service by the owners. Parking available close by and also short stay right in front of the house for unloading.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank twohoots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

It's been more than a year since our last stay at the Avalon, though we've been frequent visitors for about 10 years, and we've never posted a review. We travel from USA to Lundy Island more-or-less annually, spending a night or two at the Avalon on our arrival in UK before heading for Lundy and another night or two when we get back to the mainland. We've noticed a recent run of negative reviews (that's okay, there are no right or wrong opinions), so we feel the need to say a few good words about one of our favorite stops.

It's comfortable. It's quiet. It's homey. It's clean. It's got a quirky charm we don't see in USA. It's located in a quiet road just steps from the center of a pleasant old seaside resort town. It's got ocean views from its seaside rooms that are unmatched anywhere. It's got a bright, cheery, sea-facing dining room for breakfast which is always well prepared specifically to your order. It's run by a jovial Londoner and his even more jovial Welsh wife, both of whom are as friendly and welcoming as can be imagined. Yes, there are a lot of stairs if your going to the top (which the proprietors do all day long). Yes, some of the rooms have their own little oddities. Yes, some of the rugs are showing wear. No, there aren't a lot of typical hotel amenities. But at not much more than 100 bucks a night you get a clean, safe, comfortable room, a good night's sleep, a good morning's breakfast, a convenient location for the day's activities and very nice proprietors.

If you want the Park Lane, go to London. If you want the Ritz, go to Paris. If you want a seaside Victorian guest house in Ilfracombe, you'll be pleased with the Avalon.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are great. No. 2 has plenty of the quirkiness we mention above but it's comfy/cozy with the best sea view we have ever had anywhere
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBetsyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews