We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wildercombe House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 97
USD 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
USD 158
USD 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sherborne Lodge(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
USD 97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harcourt Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Lodge(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Wentworth House(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
122
93
73
33
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
93
73
33
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour viewlord nelson roomfour poster bedfree upgradeserved hottea and coffeeout of seasonlovely roomfantastic viewstwin roomnew ownersshort breakquaydogdevonpubs
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

What can I say what an amazing place to stay .the staff were amazing. After phoning them with very short notice(as in 10mins before arriving to book) after leaving a very shocking Hotel. the staff here are great ,very friendly the manager even offered us and most beautiful room with a lovely sea view we were very happy .like the fact that they were shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom for us to use ,clean towels every morning it was just a lovely little break away .we could of spent all day sat looking at the Harbour. We really didn't want to leave.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Not wildly impressed with his hotel. My initial impression was not good. The reception/office was very scruffy with stuff piled everywhere and very little system. It looked as though it had an identity crisis and was also a hardware store. After already having a sinking feeling I checked in and went to my room. It looked like student accommodation with very cheap furniture, horrible unlined elderly curtains and bedspread. It was however clean. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The staff were polite but I wasn't made to feel terribly welcome. There was a lack of engagement with guests. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed here over the New Year as everywhere else was fully booked! We booked the family room which was great, admittedly the rooms were old fashioned and the shower wasn't the cleanest, but on saying that overall the room was fairly clean, and good VFM. The staff at the Britannia were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a great little bar showing Sky Sports etc. which was cosey and welcoming. At 11.45 on New Years Eve the party began, 150+ people outside the hotel ready to see the New Year in. what a fantastic night.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Danthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
202
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Firstly when we arrived the reception is very poorly posted. Luckily a member of staff was close By to help us.
The room itself was clean and tidy.
The bed..........OMG it was huge.
The view of the harbour was stunning.

We had a problem with the bathroom door. There was no lock and the door didnt shut properly.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Of course we had to visit...
My fiancé’s romantic idea for my birthday after we read so many horrendous reviews. Yes ladies, I’ve saved you from one of the most unromantic men on earth!

Admittedly, we do have an unusual humour at times and this is how we ended up staying here in the first instance. Pallet beds, smoky atmosphere, drunken bums around the bar, poor service, etc.

Having slept in several of their rooms now, we have not been disappointed with any of them. Very different styling in each so far and all very clean, with plenty of towels, bedding, pillows and tea and coffees. Some overlook the harbour which really is picture perfect no matter what the weather.

The bar, as with many, you have your locals but we have grown very fond of them. Without fail, we are welcomed and part of the atmosphere here. Every visit has been fun. All the staff are great with warm personalities and always happy to see us.

We enjoy the jungle curry which is made by the owner, a dish that his mother used to make.

The Britannia is set in a great location for walks, fishing, rock pools, coastal trips and ‘tunnel beaches’ etc.

This is still very country so please expect a slow pace and enjoy

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SquishyonaDishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews