We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
125
95
75
37
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
95
75
37
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour view lord nelson room four poster free upgrade served hot tea and coffee out of season stayed one night twin room quay dog seagulls devon pubs
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Firstly when we arrived the reception is very poorly posted. Luckily a member of staff was close By to help us.
The room itself was clean and tidy.
The bed..........OMG it was huge.
The view of the harbour was stunning.

We had a problem with the bathroom door. There was no lock and the door didnt shut properly.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Trip282337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Of course we had to visit...
My fiancé’s romantic idea for my birthday after we read so many horrendous reviews. Yes ladies, I’ve saved you from one of the most unromantic men on earth!

Admittedly, we do have an unusual humour at times and this is how we ended up staying here in the first instance. Pallet beds, smoky atmosphere, drunken bums around the bar, poor service, etc.

Having slept in several of their rooms now, we have not been disappointed with any of them. Very different styling in each so far and all very clean, with plenty of towels, bedding, pillows and tea and coffees. Some overlook the harbour which really is picture perfect no matter what the weather.

The bar, as with many, you have your locals but we have grown very fond of them. Without fail, we are welcomed and part of the atmosphere here. Every visit has been fun. All the staff are great with warm personalities and always happy to see us.

We enjoy the jungle curry which is made by the owner, a dish that his mother used to make.

The Britannia is set in a great location for walks, fishing, rock pools, coastal trips and ‘tunnel beaches’ etc.

This is still very country so please expect a slow pace and enjoy

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SquishyonaDishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here. £9.95 carvery and worth every penny. Going into the hotel we went to the bar and was met by a friendly young man where we ordered our drinks and 2 Sunday carverys. We left the bar area and went to find the seating area where we could eat our dinner.

Going to the carvery area, we was met by a polite young man the chef as he was wearing the chef uniform. The meats was locally produced turkey beef and pork with crackling. The chef served us the meat and we put the the rest on which was fresh veg and cauliflower and numerous other veg available to fill your plate and all looked very nice. After we put our freshly cooked roast potatoes on and home made Yorkshire puddings the chef then dished out the gravy as he said the handle was cautiously hot and didn't want us to get burnt which was very thoughtful of him.

We returned to our table and ate all the lot as it was very tasty and would recommend this a place to eat in ilfracombe.

On leaving the hotel the chef happily said goodbye to us and hoped we enjoyed the rest of our day which goes along way so goes to show how proud of his food and hospitality he is.

Would definitely recommend and would definitely visit here again when staying in ilfracombe again.

A pleasure to visit and eat there too.
10 out of 10. Spot on.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jonjo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Having been in Ilfracombe on a weekend break, we were trying to find somewhere to eat Sunday lunch.

We found the bar and asked if we could stay for lunch and we were told we could so we ordered a drink and paid for the carvery which was reasonably priced at £9.95 each.

The food was fresh and locally produced and we had 3 meats and plenty of fresh vegetables to choose from.

The chef was polite and really helpful and kind.

If I lived closer, this would be a regular visit for us.

Lovely food and pleasant staff.

Thank you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Nice room spoilt by the chavs that live in Devon
I’m shocked all locals are alcoholics that fall asleep in this hotel which is actually a b+b
The view from the main room is amazing but the view of the local chavs is repulsive

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Expedition583064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews