We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
359
166
44
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
166
44
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clay shooting the newly refurbished rooms new owners would highly recommend this hotel lovely hotel tunnels beaches owners and staff high standard reception area first floor a stones throw beds were very comfortable breakfast was excellent full english breakfast attending a wedding local produce coach party
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

I stayed here as part of a coach party of walkers in January. We were warmly welcomed by Michael and the staff and given hot drinks and yummy cakes on arrival. As the organiser of the group I think my husband and I had the best room, it was outstanding. There were no complaints about the other rooms which were a mix of refurbished and not refurbished. A few of them were on the small side but all spotlessly clean and had all that was required. The food was imaginative and well presented and enjoyed by all. Our two vegetarains and one vegan were also well catered for. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had entertainment on two of the four nights of our stay. This was well received and had most of us dancing. The drying room was a bit of a bonus and though we were mostly lucky with the weather a few people used the facility. All in all a very good winter walking break in a super hotel in a great walking area.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshirePat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you Pat for such a comprehensive review, we are delighted the Pallgo Ramblers enjoyed their stay. Chef will be delighted you enjoyed the catering, the Housekeeper your praise for her efforts in keeping the hotel (old & new) tidy and the Entertainers for appreciating their music. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next walking in North Devon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

From the moment we walked through the doors and were greeted by the friendly reception, we knew we in for a very special weekend. Situated in a great location, everything was within walking distance. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms (102) it was spotlessly clean, nice sized comfortable bed, black out curtains, sofa, wall-mounted tv, hairdryer, ironing board and lovely ensuite bathroom with fabulous sized shower and under floor heating. A nice addition is the fridge which is replenished with bottled water daily and the safe so you know personal items are protected. We ate at the hotel on the first night and the food was cooked to perfection, thanks to the chef, Pawel. Using all fresh ingredients and local suppliers it was a joy to eat there and breakfast, nothing was to much and everything cooked to order. I would also recommend that you get Nick to make one of there fantastic Mojoto Cocktails. Its the best I have ever tasted.

We had such a fantastic time, and all the staff were so wonderful, we could not envisage staying anywhere else when visiting Ilfracombe... hence, we have already booked our return trip for this July. We will look forward to you welcoming us again.

Room tip: Great Location
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank foxisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you so much for the very kind review and shout out for Pawel & Nick, we are delighted you enjoyed the new deluxe product and also that you have already booked to return. See you in July - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient, the room, beautifully decorated and clean with the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on! I would also recommend the eggs for breakfast, I will most certainly be back.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F1807KCinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for the review, we are really glad you enjoyed the facilities and that the team made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

The room we were given was absolutely nothing like those shown in the photographs on the website. It was tiny with 1970's furniture and a small uncomfortable bed. The "bathroom" was more like a cupboard with an extremely loud toilet flush and the sort of shower you would find in a bedsit. The sink was situated within the bedroom rather than in the bathroom due to the total lack of space. This isn't what I would expect from somewhere calling itself a hotel with ensuite bathroom.

I believe we were given this horrible room because we had booked a classic room rather than a contemporary one, how were were supposed to know the stark difference in quality is anyone's guess.

I'm really unhappy as we just wanted a night away in a nice hotel and we would have just left and gone back home if it hadn't taken us four hours to get there.

Really disappointed, would NOT recommend.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jerrycrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Completely as advertised and I think you have answered your own question here. You bookerd a classic room which is clearly identified on the hotel and partner websites as an unrefurbished room for £70.00. For a mere £20.00 more you could have had a completely refurbished room! In life you get what you pay for - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Michael & Elliot gave us a very warm welcome during our stay at their newly refurbished boutique style hotel. Enjoyed a superb dinner in the Carlton restaurant. Also great atmosphere in the bar and lounge. Dawn served us a hearty Devonshire breakfast with a friendly smile. Cosy rooms. Definitely looking forward to a return trip. Love & Best Wishes Aunties, Phyllis, Pauline, Cousin’s Jan & Jacqueline xxx

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Relax306182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for the very kind review ladies, we are really pleased you liked the food and service and hope to welcome you very soon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews