We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We spent two nights at the Carlton Hotel last week and, in spite of the renovation work going on in the hotel (it will look lovely when finished) and a coach party of visitors, which meant staff were busy, we had an enjoyable stay. We chose a deluxe queensize room, which was fairly compact but newly-renovated with a beautiful shower room, very comfortable bed, safe and mini-fridge with complimentary water, plus hospitality tray (good quality items), and other items such as iron/ironing board, TV and hairdryer. There are some parking spaces (first come, first served basis), but we managed to park at the hotel one day and in a nearby street the next, so not a problem.
Staff were friendly and helpful, prices as expected for a hotel and food good quality. We had dinner included during our stay and this worked out well.
The hotel is conveniently located to reach the town or coastal path.
A good hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: We were told to book a 'Deluxe' room if we wanted a newly-renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased that the continued improvements were not an inconvenience and that you enjoyed the new Deluxe bedroom/facilities - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Picture shown are of a few recently refurbished. The rest are old, dirty and damp. Couldn't find anywhere to park.. Money was refunded immediately, no argument,as if complaints had been received before.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Sour grapes Anthony because we would not give you a new room for the price of an old? Hope you found somewhere more to your taste and £45.00 budget - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

...to be back at the Carlton. Enjoyed the great hospitality once again with the friendly staff, who are always helpful and great fun. This year we stayed in one of the new rooms, which was very comfortable and very chic. Michael and Eliot the owners are upgrading the hotel really well, whilst providing excellent food, making the hotel the best place to stay in Ilfracombe. Looking forward to next year and seeing even more developments.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moffattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to review again, we really appreciate your kind words of encouragement and will look forward to welcoming you back again - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Hotels can be expensive and plush or cheap and cheerful and be equally good at the price. What they can't be is expensive and not very good. We arrived at the Carlton having been assured there would be parking on site to find a full car park and no street parking close by. Our room was tiny. The downstairs has been renovated to quite a good standard but that's where it stops. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 415John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for the review John, I dont understand where you got a car parking assurance as we do not give one. Parking is offered FREE on a first come first served basis as indicated on the hotel website and our partner websites. Book a deluxe room if you want a new room as clearly you must stayed in one of the budget priced unrefurbished rooms - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Stayed for 1 night on way to Cornwall with my sister and husband (2 cars).Agree the car park is small and as there was a wedding party staying and we had 2 cars it could have been a problem but worked out fine for us and was free unlike a lot of hotels on our tour.
Michael was very helpful on arrival with loads of information about the hotel and surrounding area and places to eat and very pleasent as were all the staff on reception and at breakfast.
There is a lift to all floors , if a little quirky--wait for it to stop before trying to open the door!!Our room and bathroom were small but perfectly adequate and one of the ones waiting to be updated but spotlessly clean and warm.
Great breakfast and though they were staff down and a new member of staff on (who was great!) the service was fine too.
Will definately consider staying again if in the area and interested to see the rest of the upgrades-good luck.
Would have given 5 stars probably if all the upgrading was in place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFogg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and services, we are really pleased you had a good time and hope you enjoyed Cornwall. Great to read you would return if in the area - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.6 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
5.1 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
632 reviews
0.0 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
1.2 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ilfracombe

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $120 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing