We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We wont be staying again ...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We wont be staying again ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Only booked one night, at short notice. we thought it was expensive. (£84), The room was small, the en-suite VERY small. (The sink was in the bedroom - no room for it in the en-suite!). Our first room had a faulty toilet - we were immediately offered an alternative. The room was clean but, like everything else, tired. The beakfast was good, the service 'old fashioned' - no possibility of a buffet breakfast here!
Ilfracombe itself seemed run-down, and whoever passed the planning permission for the new sea-front theatre should be sacked. (It looks like a small power station with two cooling towers!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soaringpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Paul. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    117
    28
    18
    4
See reviews for
61
94
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I first stayed at the Carlton Illfracombe in November 2010 and enjoyed it so much I returned in August. It is still the best place to stay in the town in terms of cost, friendliness and service. The staff are always around and willing to help and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast and Dinner service is very efficient and served quickly. If you eat from the TDH menu, you are only waiting 1 minute for your dinner to arrive. Highly recommend for solo travellers, couples and families. I’m looking forward to my third visit in April!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHiker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2015
Great to hear that you keep returning. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Okay so it is not the smartest hotel in town but we enjoyed our stay. Good location for harbour and seafront.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teignmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have stayed at many hotels in this country and abroad but can truly say that the Ilfracombe Carlton has been the best for its outstanding, welcoming, personal service. The hotel itself is a little dated but, having said that, the rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean and we'd also recommend the full English cooked breakfast which was always served promptly and was piping hot unlike many of the buffet breakfasts in 'grander' hotels. We stayed for three nights during our daughter's wedding at Tunnels Beaches for which the Carlton is ideally located. During that time we were made to feel at home and nothing we required was a problem for the staff there. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2015
Thank you for the 'Outstanding' review Neil. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The receptionists and waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a double room, which was fine, but not that big and we decided to upgrade to a superior room for an extra £20 a night. This is an old-fashioned sort of hotel and maybe designed for the older holiday-maker. The bed was very comfortable. I should probably have checked who made the mattress. A problem with the shower screen was quickly sorted.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2015
Thank you for the review Dave. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.6 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): $131 - $201
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing