We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Glenshieling House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenshieling House
Ranked #1 of 14 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We stayed 2 nights in this gorgeous house. Louise & Richard are fantastic hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the area & give great tips on the best places to see. The breakfast is outstanding & the pancakes are to die for. We stayed in room 2 a Kingsize room. The room was exquisite & the bed was so comfy. Great shower too. The views were stunning from our room. Would highly recommend. We will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Every room is stunning.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catherine280160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoobyLou0035, Owner at Glenshieling House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Wow! We are delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us. Blairgowrie is a good central location to go off exploring the many sights and attractions that are here in Perthshire. Richard and I look forward to welcoming you both back for your next trip up to Blairgowrie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Glenshieling House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Only compliments for Glenshieling house, accommodation is delightful with furnishings sourced from Laura Ashley but with a modern twist. Richard and Louise are the perfect hosts and happy to accommodate most requests. The high light of my stay is Louise's baking and cooking- the pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup are so good I had to cone back for a second day.

Room Tip: Room 3 and 1 are very spacious with great views
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoobyLou0035, Owner at Glenshieling House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for such a fantastic review. I know we say it time and time again but we really do appreciate it when our guests take the time to post feedback on TripAdvisor. Richard and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you approved of our newly refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. As for the pancakes...I guess I better not take them off the menu anytime soon...ha..ha!! They are far too popular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I stayed here on business as a last minute booking. It was a great choice, very central to Blairgowrie, very nice couple who showed great attention to detail in all aspects including the fantastic breakfast. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank j0nnywalker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoobyLou0035, Owner at Glenshieling House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

We always appreciate when our guests take the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for such a glowing review and we hope you perhaps make a return journey, except this time for pleasure rather than business. There is so much to see and do around Perthshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We looked for a midweek deal in or near Blairgowrie and stumbled upon this little gem. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the lovely Louise who quickly and efficiently showed us to our room. As nobody else had booked Room 2 we were given an upgrade without asking! Our room was tastefully decorated as was the ensuite shower room.
Richard and Louise were informative about what facilities and eateries were available nearby. The breakfasts were delicious and filled/ fuelled us sufficiently so that we required simply a tea or coffee during the day to sustain us until dinner. Little' s was recommended for dinner and it did not disappoint! We would certainly recommend Glensheiling House to friends and family. We will be returning to sample the pancakes which we heard so much about from others but did not sample on this visit! Thank you again Louise and Richard! R &R

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Rosaleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoobyLou0035, Owner at Glenshieling House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back so you can try the pancake option for breakfast next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 5 : my wife and I and our 3 daughters.

We all LOVED Glenshieling House. We were one of the first groups to stay since they had reopened after refurbishment. The House is beautifully decorated. The rooms we had were a double (room 2) and room 3 (a double and a single for the girls). Beds were super- comfy. Showers were great. Breakfasts were out of this world. Great choices and prepared with skill. My youngest adored the pancakes!

The greatest part of Glenshieling House are the hosts, Richard and Louise. They are a lovely couple and made us feel so welcome.

Can't recommend this place more highly. Superb!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Colin_Gilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoobyLou0035, Owner at Glenshieling House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review of our newly refurbished Glenshieling House. Super-comfy beds, great showers and breakfasts that are "out of this world".... everything we are aiming for! It was our pleasure to host you and your family and we really would love to see you all back here again for your next family get to-gether in beautiful Perthshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
1.0 km away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
127 reviews
1.1 km away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
752 reviews
10.1 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blairgowrie
146 reviews
7.7 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.6 km away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 5 in Blairgowrie
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshieling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshieling House

Address: Hatton Road, Blairgowrie PH10 7HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range: $121 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenshieling House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenshieling House, a magnificent Victorian villa built in 1893; peacefully located within its own private gardens and woodland of three acres and set amongst the rolling Perthshire hills yet only a fifteen minute stroll to Blairgowrie town centre and all its amenities. We have six well-appointed en-suite bedrooms and our guests have full use of the charming lounge and adjoining music room/sunroom. On colder evenings, our guests can relax in front of a roaring log fire. The house sits just off the A93 that leads North to Braemar, Royal Deeside and the ski slopes of Glenshee. We are also only a short car journey to both Perth and Dundee. We are ideally situated as a base to further explore the beautiful Perthshire countryside with its many local visitor attractions. A warm welcome awaits you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Glenshieling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshieling House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing