We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
WineOcl0c...
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had the most wonderful time at Woodpecker/Pondfauld holidays! Couldn't fault the property or the cabin at all (yes, as per other reviews some of the furniture is a wee bit tired in places but that all adds to the charm and homey feeling). Wonderful hosts, Mel and Keith, greeted us warmly with fresh eggs from their chickens (delicious) but were also non-intrusive. A perfect getaway in beautiful, well kept surroundings. Peaceful yet so near to the town and places tour about. The way the cabins were laid out meant privacy and parking could not be closer. Woodpecker itself was like a tardis! Very comfy and cosy, yet spacious enough our pup still had a lot of space to investigate. The bathroom and shower were large, and the bedroom cosy with the comfiest bed and loads of storage. The kitchen was well equipped with a full size cooker, so no complaints there. Loved taking Murphy on walks to see the donkeys and it was such fun to watch the chickens wandering about. Listening to the birds was idyllic and it was really interesting to watch the bats too. We were very sad to leave, and will definitely be back. Maple Lodge is temping too as we were lucky enough to be offered a look round... We could not have had a better trip and highly recommend Pondfauld Holidays. Well done Mel and Keith, and many many thanks :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything :)
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie P
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and lovely accomodation”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place for a short break and very central for visiting other places in and around Scotland. Mel and Keith are very accommodating and will make you feel very welcome.

ROSE, COLIN & COOKIE, MELROSE

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet in a nice area.
Liked least: Nothing - all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review , we especially loved having Cookie to stay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May M
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful holiday at Woodpecker Lodge Blairgowrie. The Lodge was lovely and very peaceful. The owners Mel and Keith couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely couple. We were there with our little dog Hamish who loved it. Loads of chickens roaming about. On arrival we were given fresh eggs and milk. Would highly recommend this Lodge. We will be back. John and May Miller

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the Lodge was lovely. Very relaxing. Owners were very friendly
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
thank you for your lovely comments , we hope to see you all again in the future . mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
1 review
“A home from home in a beautiful part of the country”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in woodpecker lodge with our year old border collie. Mel and Keith were super hosts, very understanding and accommodating when we requested to stay an extra night. The setting was very peaceful, a place where we could relax and unwind. Woodpecker lodge was perfect in every way, had everything we could have asked for - a well equipped kitchen, and a lovely little electric fire that warmed the place up nicely and still looked like a 'real' fire! The local pub, the old cross inn, was recommended and served delicious food in a very friendly atmosphere. We would definitely like to stay here again when we are next in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge felt like home from the minute we stepped in
Liked least: The bed/pillows were not very comfortable but that is probably just me!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay
mel & keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
chichester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Woodpecker Lodge”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful recent stay in Woodpecker Lodge. We were in the area for a wedding and the lodge ticked every box we needed for our accomodation. It was warm, cosy, clean and comfortable and had plenty of garden space for our two children to run around. We had everything we needed (and more in the shape of fresh eggs from the resident chickens, together with milk and tea thoughtfully supplied by Mel and Keith the owners). The kitchen area was well stocked, the shower was good and hot and the beds (one a put you up in the living area) were extremely comfortable.
As well as being comfortable and super value for money, Mel and Keith were kind and helpful; giving us a lift into town in our wedding gear and dropping us at the bus station with our luggage to start our journey home.
We liked Pondfauld and Blairgowrie so much that we intend to take a longer holiday there next year, hopefully staying in the three bed chalet which we nosed around and were very impressed by, with its huge open plan living area and wrap around verandah.
We wholeheartedly recommend Pondfauld and the Woodpecker Lodge - it's a fab place for families, and right on the doorstep of stunning scenery. And the big plus is that it's just a 20 minute stroll into town.
Big thanks to Mel and Keith for a great stay and hello to Bruce the dog and all the chickens from Gracie and Madeleine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing