We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveller rating
446
216
68
33
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
216
68
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomswimming poolsnooker roomstar hotelguest accommodationbar managertable tennisgreat facilitiescourse dinnerfantastic hotelexcellent value for moneybed and breakfastwaitress servicewell stocked barfamily roomevening entertainmentguest house
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean rooms. Great receptionist/ manager kind and caring. Lovely bar and lovely bar staff/ after a harrowing few hours this place was the tonic needed. The swimming pool/ zaccusi / games rooms / great for kids / family..
Rooms lovely / clean and lovely little extras

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank marionbohola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

So pleased that you enjoyed our many amenities and we will pass on to our fantastic staff team your kind comments - particularly to those in Reception. Please come back for another visit and remember to book direct - see our Special Offer "Best Buy Package" (centre and towards top of page) - you will not only get a lower room rate than if you booked through one of the OTA's but we can also then offer a very low ferry fare of the type that is only possible when packaged with an accommodation reservation made direct with The Wight - result - WIN WIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My wife, myself and two friends recently spent three nights in this establishment. The hotel is a little dated but extremely clean. The facilities at this establishment are very good, a good sized car park, a games room and a reasonable sized swimming pool together with a well stocked bar. Without any doubt the biggest plus of this hotel is the excellent service from all the staff. Nothing is two much trouble. The hotel does not offer evening meals but the breakfast offered is both extremely well cooked and plentiful. The standard rooms are quite small but we stayed in a superior room which was fine. If I had to find a fault it would be the snooker table which played extremely slow and had a substandard white ball but this did not detract from having a lovely time here and I have no hesitation in giving it five stars.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Mitch045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your fine comments which are greatly appreciated and have been passed on to our wonderful staff who are the backbone of The Wight. We will have the snooker table checked but this is the first time that anyone (including a month ago two clients who stay with us several times each year and who's main reason for coming is to use the table - indeed they hardly ever venture past the car park except for getting their dinner each evening!) has mentioned any problem. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future, but if so then see our Special Offer "Best Buy Package" (centre and towards top of page) - you will not only get a lower room rate than if you booked through one of the OTA's AND we can then offer a very low ferry fare of the type that is only possible when packaged with an accommodation reservation made direct with The Wight - result - WIN WIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I have to think carefully about this review

What I liked

- The location - gravel car park in town centre - easily found and quite pretty
- the buildings presentation (outside) looks quite pretty and inviting
- Inside looked quite smart, the restaurant was nice and quite spacious,
- the bar was fantastic
- staff (most) were polite, attentive and helpful
- The breakfast was 5 STAR out of this world gorgeous
- Nice (deep) pool

What I didn't like

- Rude reception staff (told me I made the place look untidy)
- Cold Jacuzzi With foam in it
- Room had a VERY loud bathroom fan, non working bed lamps and we had a sink in it which wouldn't turn off.
- dangerous extension cables as plugs (no plug sockets)

I did enjoy it here, the sauna is small and I couldn't even get changed in the mens changing room. Very clean super comfy bed quiet great sleep

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Because of several comments made we are able to deduce the exact bedroom in question and the particular receptionist. From those points our CCTV system has enabled us to review the actual check-in so, in respect of the "rude" receptionist, the following is applicable. The reviewer and his partner arrived almost simultaneously but behind another couple. He was indeed asked to take a seat whilst the receptionist dealt with the first couple but, when she showed them their where their table was for Breakfast the reviewer followed them. Then, when she showed them the vouchers that are available for our guest to receive a discount in several local restaurants he joined them and then, when she started up the stairs to take them to their room he again seemed to be about to follow. At that point she did indeed, in a jocular fashion, say to the extent of s"sit down you'r making the place look untidy - surely better than any more "formal" comment!
In respect of the other comments: a) The Jacuzzi is not cold. It is not a "hot tub" but is for use in conjunction with our heated swimming pool so is set to the recommended 8 degrees centigrade above the pool's 30 degrees (anything more would make the pool feel very cold after 5 minutes in the Jacuzzi! Foam? all that we can think is that somebody had added shampoo to the water - it is quite incredible what some people do! b) Non working bed lamps - possibly he did not use the master switch as they work perfectly. Similarly nothing can be found wrong with the sink taps. c) Dangerous extension cables and no plug sockets - the electric kettle, hairdryer, TV and fan are all hard wired so the 4 socket extension unit (which itself is fixed to the wall) is there purely for charging phones, laptops and similar low power items - so unless a customer brought with him several 3Kw fires (joke! there is absolutely no danger.
We do however note that the guest enjoyed most elements of his stay at The Wight and greatly hope that we will be given the future opportunity of offering accommodation without any of the stated problems. Remember to see our Special Offer "Best Buy Package" (centre and towards top of page) and get a lower room rate than if booked through one of the OTA's- PLUS we can then offer a very low ferry fare of the type that is only possible when packaged with an accommodation reservation made direct with The Wight - a double saving and you get to deal with a real person rather than a computer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Excellent value for money stay during bitter winter conditions. A very good choice for a value stay away, offering that little extra with the indoor swimming pool, steam room and sauna which really add to the experience. The breakfast was a highlight, with an abundance of delicious food to set you up for the day that was freshly cooked, well presented and served to the table. Welcoming and friendly team who looked after us well, and who were thoughtful and a joy. Spotlessly clean, and would highly recommend. Look forward to another visit, at this well located hotel. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms a plus for those with limited mobility.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markgosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Wight and look forward to your next visit to our beautiful island. But before you make your reservation please take our advice and see our Special Offer "Best Buy Package" (centre and towards top of page) - you will not only get a lower room rate than if you booked through one of the OTA's PLUS we can then add a very low ferry fare of the type that is only applicable when packaged with an accommodation reservation made direct with The Wight - result - WIN WIN!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Very friendly, very comfortable and very clean with good spa facilities. We have really enjoyed our few days. As has our dog, Amadeus, who was made very welcome. In a lovely quiet spot but ideally located for the beach and town centre. Very reasonably priced. We very much look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We had rooms with smaller bathroom facilities which are less expensive but more than .
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank debbiefarrelly2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Likewise in respect of your next visit - Amadeus (now that's what I call a dog!) is welcome to bring you any time - and we guarantee a limitless supply of ice cubes!. See our Special Offer "Best Buy Package" (centre and towards top of page) - you will not only get a lower room rate than if you booked through one of the OTA's AND we can then add a very low ferry fare of the type that is only applicable when packaged with an accommodation reservation made direct with The Wight - result - WIN WIN!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews