We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fabulous house !!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Notaires

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lounge Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
The Lounge
Dining Room
The Green Bedroom
Blue bedroom
The kitchen
The breakfast room
The tower art room
Courtyard bedroom
Perfect for a summer time barbecue
Blue Skies over the courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Chabanais, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dlh522015
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fabulous house !!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A group of 9 of us (3 generations) needed somewhere to stay in the Chabanais area for a family birthday party. The house is beautiful - comfy beds, extremely well equipped - the weather was awful but our grandchildren were kept entertained in the TV room and with the board games provided.
Dave and Heather were so helpful in the planning of our short break - they even did some shopping for us because we arrived late in the evening prior to a bank holiday.

Really can't give too high a recommendation for this lovely house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so spacious
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous family home.”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our trip to France was a sad one this time, to be with my Nieces for their first Christmas without my sister, their Mum. Our stay at L'ancienne Notaires was superb, the house was beautiful with ample space for all eight of us. Dave and Heather had even put the Christmas decorations up sensitively checking that this would be okay first. The bedrooms were excellent from the crisp clean bedding and fresh white towels... we even had bathrobes for each of us, we felt like we were staying in the Hilton Hotel. The fully equipped kitchen was fabulous enabling the stress free cooking of our Christmas dinner. The local shops were just a short walk away with a large supermarket a short drive away. The outside courtyard was a lovely private space and would be gorgeous to sit outside in the summer. Dave and Heather have thought of everything, a truly wonderful experience was had by all of us, Thank you so much xx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our house in Chabanais. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linzylou2...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable large house of Character”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We travelled to Chabanais to visit my parents, We needed a large place with all the amenities and this lovely house suited our needs perfectly. The beds are so comfortable with lovely clean linen and lovely décor. We felt like we were at Downton Abbey having our family meal in the formal dining room. The cinema room was a big hit with its huge screen and dvds for all the family. perfect to chill and escape.
The courtyard is so pretty and secluded which has a back entrance to slip out for your morning croissants.
W enjoyed it & would return again. Thanks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good value for fantastic house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark E
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House for a large group/ family”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Highly recommended house for a family or large group as there is plenty of room and the accommodation is very comfortable. Dave and Heather have thought of everything and it is a real home from home. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and there is plenty to do if the weather is not very good as the cinema room is a great addition. The courtyard was my favourite place to spend the evening surfing the web with a nice cold beer. It is in a very central position in the town with the bakery and tabac right across the road with lots of other shops all within easy level walking distance. Highly recommended!! We have stayed in France many times and this is the best place by far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing