We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
145
96
20
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
96
20
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of manhutchinson squarewashing machineowners and staffthe main hotelgrand prixquiet locationvilla marinashower roombed was very comfortablea lovely place to stayenjoyed our staytop floorsea frontexcellent stayexcellent value for moneymanx gp
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Organised a surprise trip to the IOM for our ruby wedding as we came here forty years ago for our honeymoon. Found the Arrandale via Trip Advisor and not disappointed. Lovely clean room with a smashing view and a very comfy bed. We slept well. Lovely, friendly staff and good food. A bit of a stiff walk uphill from the prom but still a good location. We will certainly be visiting the Arrandale again.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room at the front for the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed in the Arrandale for Mannifest festival.clean and excellent location near to all amenities. Lovely friendly helpful staff, one the best hotel breakfasts ever and a nice laid back Manx atmosphere.
Will be back year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here with a group of motorcyclists for a long weekend at the end of July.

Staff were welcoming and very helpfull

Rooms clean, food of a very good standard and plentifull.

The staff even came in early on the last day to do early breakfast so we did not miss our ferry.

Only downside was the electric shower which was problematic but with patience worked after a fashion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Arrandale consists of a B & B - and then flats about 15 doors up on the same square. I decided to stay at one of the flats - number 1 located on the ground floor. Previous research before booking this apartment showed that flats were expensive in Douglas - with the Arrandale being one of the cheapest available - so the rating bears this price well in mind.

As stated Hutchinson Square is a little out of the town centre up a small hill - it took me about 20 mins to walk into the centre - with another 5 mins to Tescos and the steam railway. It was also about 25 mins from the electric railway which lies in the opposite direction.

The accommodation is slightly basic - but all facilities are there (kettle, microwave, cutlery, crockery, toaster, TV, CD &DVD players, cooker etc). In addition all linen and towels were supplied, and, as a nice extra touch, some toiletries to get you going. There was also free wifi- and unusually there was a very strong signal!

The front of the flat looks over the square - unfortunately the bedroom at the back looks out over an iron stair case and concrete walls Very little noise came through from neighbouring flats.

Overall for the price I'd strongly recommend - however I couldn't award this accommodation five starts as there were areas of criticism:

a) The cleaning had not been 100% effective before I had arrived.
b) There were no small windows to open - only large ones - and given the flat was ground level anyone could have therefore stepped into the flat
c) Towel in bathroom was somewhat frayed - and two light bulbs had already blown when I'd arrived - showing perhaps a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed for week, after booking off internet fortnight prior. Located very central in Douglas, but set back from promenade. Only 8 minutes walk up, but incline may be a problem for people with mobility problems. Hotel room was not huge , but adequate. It was cosy with a reasonable size bathroom. Our room overlooked park , but in being on top third floor meant arduous climbing of stairs 2/3 times a day. Considered hotel to be kept generally well cleaned throughout. Service at breakfast each day was very good, and all food well prepared and plentiful. Quite a reasonable choice for accommodation size. All rooms and food are more expensive on the IOM, and the rates for the Arrandale Hotel compared well with others similarly situated off the seafront. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, certainly we enjoyed our stay and the hotel was comfortable but I may be more inclined to book actually on the seafront next visit, if the tariffs failed to reflect the slope up from promenade.

Room Tip: A room on the top third floor will have good views and ensure your losing a few pounds in weight by daily climbing of stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews