We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nefyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed in the Arrandale for a week in August. We had a warm welcome and an excellent room with a great view over Douglas bay - the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, especially the smoked Manx kippers. We also enjoyed a drink at the bar with a friendly assortment of bikers! All in all, excellent value for money, and no hesitation in recommending the Arrandale!

Room Tip: Top floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraint w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    87
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
47
79
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Organised a surprise trip to the IOM for our ruby wedding as we came here forty years ago for our honeymoon. Found the Arrandale via Trip Advisor and not disappointed. Lovely clean room with a smashing view and a very comfy bed. We slept well. Lovely, friendly staff and good food. A bit of a stiff walk uphill from the prom but still a good location. We will certainly be visiting the Arrandale again.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room at the front for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed in the Arrandale for Mannifest festival.clean and excellent location near to all amenities. Lovely friendly helpful staff, one the best hotel breakfasts ever and a nice laid back Manx atmosphere.
Will be back year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here with a group of motorcyclists for a long weekend at the end of July.

Staff were welcoming and very helpfull

Rooms clean, food of a very good standard and plentifull.

The staff even came in early on the last day to do early breakfast so we did not miss our ferry.

Only downside was the electric shower which was problematic but with patience worked after a fashion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Arrandale consists of a B & B - and then flats about 15 doors up on the same square. I decided to stay at one of the flats - number 1 located on the ground floor. Previous research before booking this apartment showed that flats were expensive in Douglas - with the Arrandale being one of the cheapest available - so the rating bears this price well in mind.

As stated Hutchinson Square is a little out of the town centre up a small hill - it took me about 20 mins to walk into the centre - with another 5 mins to Tescos and the steam railway. It was also about 25 mins from the electric railway which lies in the opposite direction.

The accommodation is slightly basic - but all facilities are there (kettle, microwave, cutlery, crockery, toaster, TV, CD &DVD players, cooker etc). In addition all linen and towels were supplied, and, as a nice extra touch, some toiletries to get you going. There was also free wifi- and unusually there was a very strong signal!

The front of the flat looks over the square - unfortunately the bedroom at the back looks out over an iron stair case and concrete walls Very little noise came through from neighbouring flats.

Overall for the price I'd strongly recommend - however I couldn't award this accommodation five starts as there were areas of criticism:

a) The cleaning had not been 100% effective before I had arrived.
b) There were no small windows to open - only large ones - and given the flat was ground level anyone could have therefore stepped into the flat
c) Towel in bathroom was somewhat frayed - and two light bulbs had already blown when I'd arrived - showing perhaps a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.1 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price range (per night): $95 - $256
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing