We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Last of the summer sun”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 6 Marine Parade

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom balcony
Top Bedroom
Top Bedroom
Ventnor Park - 5 minutes walk away
Ventnor Beach  - a minute's walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Last of the summer sun”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

POSITIVES
We had a very nice relaxing holiday as this home is superbly situated overlooking Ventnor Bay and has everything you need to have a relaxing holiday. The beach and beachside amenities are all easily reached, as is the town centre.
The house is set on 3 levels, so you need to be able to use the stairs, although if there are only two of you (like us) you can make do with only using 2 levels.
The lounge, kitchen and bedrooms are superbly appointed in terms of facilities and the views (especially from the main bedroom) are excellent.
As this is the Owner's home (they travel during the summer months) it really is a home from home with lots of interesting artefacts and informtion.
There is dedicated parking.
There is also an excellent wi-fi facility (available throughout the house) which we used every day to obtain information on local places as well as emails etc.
There are restaurants/cafes to suit every taste in close proximity.

NEGATIVE
You must be reasonably mobile as there are steps outside as well as inside the property, and Ventnor itself is set on the side of a cliff and therefore you are nearly always either going up or down. However, this did not cause us any problems and you are able to use a car to get around if you have one (although this is not a necessity as the town/beach are close by).
We were not fans of the 'wet room' set up in the bathroom as the water did not all go towards the drain and you had to spend a while 'mopping up' every morning. However, this was more of a niggle and would not put us off returning again.

TRAVEL
We found the route Lymington-Yarmouth to be very reasonably priced and straight forward, and the run from Yarmouth to Ventnor is very picturesque along the cliff top road

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The wet room set up
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you - Ventnor keeps you fit. Agree with your comments re 'wet room'. Workmen will be working to solve the problem this winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
742mart
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“unusual”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a great stay at this unusual layout house top bedroom bathroom needs to be redesigned I believe this could be achieved relatively cheaply

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views were good
Liked least: top bathroom needs to be redesigned
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Apologies - but we like the top bedroom / bathroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMisto...
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely location.”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Alistair was very helpful. We called on the way to the house to ask if we could arrive a little after 3pm and he was very accommodating. When we arrived he was very friendly and gave us a relaxed look around the house.

The house was equipped with everything we needed for a very comfortable stay.

I grew up in St Lawrence so knew the area quite well but I didn't recall Marine Parade which was an ideal location. A two minute stroll down the hill to the Esplanade, and a five minute walk uphill to the town centre.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanMN542...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at 6 Marine Parade. The house is perfect, a real home away from home. Minutes walk to beach and shops and some great restaurants. Probably the best accommodation we have ever stayed in, we can see why it is so popular, Ventnor is a gorgeous sea side town. Jamie gave us a very warm and friendly welcome. Would definitely stay here again, 10 out of 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review - glad you enjoyed Ventnor!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCF77UK
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A happy week”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at the house with my husband (in the first floor room) and my sister (she was on the top floor). It was a perfect one-week home for us, despite arriving to find that the boiler had broken down (we could still shower as there is an electric shower in the first floor wet room). The boiler was fixed by the Wednesday evening and its absence did not get in the way of our enjoyment of the house and of Ventnor.
The owners provided a useful and comprehensive information sheet prior to our stay, which was a nice touch - and there was a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge when we arrived. The first thing we did was sit on the lawn in bright sunshine and enjoy the wine. The house has a great location looking out to sea and the lawn catches the sun all day.
Jamie, the owners' representative, was an absolute star. He could not have made us more welcome or been more friendly. He contacted me to ask when we would be arriving at the house and met us off the bus in the centre of Ventnor to show us the way.
We have been to Ventnor before, but got to know it better this time. The Spyglass was great fun; the view from the Rex Bar was fantastic and our evening at The Exchange (where we saw a play) was enchanting (It is the first play I have seen with a dog in the audience!)
Like the previous reviewer, I did not find the house cluttered. It contains some interesting pictures, books and artefacts, but there was plenty of room in the main bedroom for our own clothes and belongings - and enough room in the top bedroom for my sister's things.
The kitchen was spacious and very well stocked - it lacked only a cafetière.
Towards the end of the week I noticed a small leak from the wet room into the kitchen and so we started to shower in the bath rather than the floor of the wet room. I am sure the owners will get this fixed as soon as possible.
We, like several of the reviewers, were sad to leave the house at the end of the week and I am sure we will return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Broken boiler - but this was fixed during our stay so not relevant to future occupants.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review - also for your consideration while work was done during your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing