We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
425
42
20
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
42
20
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern art white walls isle of wight his team vegetable garden scandinavian style danish owner home grown no tea or coffee making facilities small hotel sea view cup of tea high standard nothing is too much trouble excellent food warm welcome great attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Returned to Sussex this evening after a delightfu and relaxing 3 night stay at The Hillside. Everything was perfect and all our needs met very professionally by Andre and James - two very pleasant young men.
Rooms comfortable and the sea view a treat especially as sun was shining each morning when we pulled up the blinds. Breakfast truly excellent as was the one dinner we ate in house.
Decor is so tranquil and the art work is shown off so well against the white walls
throughout the building.
Received such a warm welcome on arrival and a genuine “hope you’ll be back” as we left. This place was such a great find and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We loved our four nights spent here. Most comfortable well appointed attractive rooms. Sea view was divine. The service was excellent and on return from our excursions each day we were always greeted warmly and offered a cup of tea. Breakfasts were everything you could want, cold or cooked. The building is most attractive being decorated entirely in white and then all the interest is in the modern art on the walls and some interesting pieces. Great attention to quality and detail.The building is quite old and beautifully kept. Plenty of areas for sitting around relaxing.The Danish proprietor has great style and humour. Our only problem was dinner in the evening. We arrived Sunday evening with no preparation. Ventnor was mainly closed so we ended up with burgers. Not exactly our style. The hotel does meals by arrangement if there is enough demand as only 12room hotel. We had one lovely dinner in house, then the chef was ill. The Bistro in the town also serves similar excellent food but closes 3 days a week. There is the Royal hotel nearby which I am sure would serve good food we later discovered. If we went again we would plan better. The hotel Wifi was not reliable which hampered our research about the island. Would go back in a heart beat. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must and worth the extra.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WestSussexSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

A delightful stay at Hillside in our autumn classic car break. Arrived at Hillside to a warm welcome by Andre who advised us that anything we needed he would get it done in 5 seconds...he almost achieved it!! Nice rooms, excellent breakfast and despite a new young chef the evening meal was excellent. The art here is impressive.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 58AndyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed a week - our first visit to the IoW, and I thought a week would be too long - but I could have happily stayed a month at the Hillside. It has a sense of gentle, playful sophistication. I've never been very comfortable sitting in the public rooms of hotels, but at Hillside we sat for two or three evenings after returning from supper, and found it to be a friendly, relaxed and comfortable place to be. The world holds a lot of intriguing places to visit before you start returning to favourites, but this is one I'd visit again happily. To get down to detail: lovely décor, great artwork, good food, a great view, and an engaged family running things. It's a little bit different from your average boutique hotel, and all the more attractive and enjoyable for it.

Room Tip: Sea views probably a good thing to ask for.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwayswithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

It was our first time to the Island and we were there for just two nights. Helped along by the beautiful British summer we had a very luxurious stay at the Hillside Hotel in Ventnor. Beautifully designed and perfect in every tiny detail from the Royal Copenhagen China served at breakfast along with the Georg Jenson cutlery that refelected it’s Danish owners heritage. Our room was comfortable and the staff were very attentive, even driving us to a local restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel and I would love to return for a longer stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karindreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews