We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Marine Villa (aka Art Deco House)”
other travellers have booked this property
Marine Villa, the Art Deco House on the Isle of Wight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marine Villa, the Art Deco House on the Isle of Wight
Front of Marine Villa, The Art Deco House The drawing room, lots of sofas for that get together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Marine Villa, the Art Deco House on the Isle of Wight
Front of Marine Villa, The Art Deco House
The drawing room, lots of sofas for that get together
Just sit around the coffee table....maybe have a cocktail or three?
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3,
the bunk beds in Bedroom
Bedroom 4 with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4, with en-suite bathroom
Bedroom 5, the cozy room with dual aspect views
En-suite bathroom to Bedroom 5 one of 5 modern bathrooms at Marine Villa
The Accessible bedroom with en-suite bathroom. Private wheelchair access if needed
Morning Room, and optional Bedroom 7
The Sunroom looking our across Culver Bay
The sunroom looking towards where once Shanklin Pier used to stand
Sunrise from the Master Bedroom
The Upstairs Landing, joining all the upstairs bedrooms
The kitchen
Dining room sleeping 20
Dining room, with SONOS wifi hidden in the antique radios!
We can even provide a cake that looks like the house for that special occasion
The garden room
View from the sunroom
View from the garden
Sunroom
View of  the garden from the upstairs sun room
View from the Garden Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnpearc...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marine Villa (aka Art Deco House)”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Marine Villa (aka the Art Deco House) over the New Year period and were delighted with our stay. From first arrival it was obvious that this is a delightful (large) family house with very easy access to the cliff top and beaches. We were a group of family and friends with all ages from 18 months to 70 years, (i.e. 2 under four; 3 teenagers, 5 twenty/thirty year olds as well at the over forties).

My concern before the trip was that the house would be almost too perfect and young hands might lead to breakage with parents always on tenterhooks. However on arrival I was completely relaxed. It felt like a home not a museum, and yet still retained all the character of an Agatha Christie novel.

As it was new year and the weather was variable we spent a lot of time in the house, mainly in the dining and living rooms, which never once felt cramped.
On top of the fabulous house I particularly like the extra touches, (e.g. Christmas card; ‘free’ hamper and postcards). My wife and I were also able to enjoy a sun rise and view the moon (and ships) from a suitably period telescope.
The whole group all agreed this was an excellent choice for any break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A step back in time with modern luxuries
Liked least: The weather could have been better but was New Year
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
John, we are delighted you felt at home at Marine Villa, and that your New Year Celebrations went so well. The house is not just a business, but it actually is a home and one day will be our family home! Most people that stay bring multiple generations, it really does work across all year groups. We just got a 'GOLD' rating on top of our 5 stars from the English Tourist Board "VisitEng" for exceptional customer service...but your kind words from having stayed at Marine Villa mean so much to us! Thanks and have a wonderful 2016!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very special house, perfect for a group celebration”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

When I was looking for somewhere to have my sixtieth birthday celebration, I came across this house, and from the description seemed perfect, but just too good to be true. But I can now say that not only did it live up to expectations, but amazingly exceeded them. The setting is stunning, in beautiful grounds on the the clifftop, but it is the house itself that is the star. Big light and airy rooms, with wonderful furnishings and fittings and decor, all in keeping with the Art Deco theme, made you feel you had stepped back into a bygone age. It felt a real privilege to be staying there, and trusted with this amazing place.
The big dining room was a perfect setting for my birthday dinner, and the kitchen had everything you could possibly want to prepare and serve the meal.
The owner was very helpful and responsive, and on his recommendation we had food for the meal supplied by Deli Tramezzini, which was great, and a cake from Wight Vintage, which was also wonderful.
So it was very memorable weekend for us all, topped off by the lovely warm and sunny weather the whole time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the house, the decor, the setting, making a unique experience
Liked least: Could not find anything to fault, really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Ian, thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated, we are delighted you enjoyed staying at Marine Villa. We do hope you will come back next year. You may be interested to know that this week, VISIT ENGLAND, the English Tourist Board awarded us a GOLD STANDARD on top of our 5 star rating!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchie1...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning house.”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were a party of ten adults and six children with ages ranging from eighteen months to sixty eight years being three generations of the same family.
Marine Villa had everything you could wish for and more. Beautiful gardens, fabulous rooms and great Art Deco furniture and features. The kitchen had endless crockery, cutlery and pots and pans.
The bedrooms were well laid out for several families to share the house and the master bedroom has to be seen to be believed. Downstairs the grand dining room is one of many living areas that include lounges and a sun room.
I found the owners a pleasure to deal with and they were very helpful in every respect.
All in all this house is the most wonderful place for a group holiday and gave us one of the best holidays we have ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your review. We hope you will be back again soon! Laurence and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejhcjh
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
5
people found this review helpful

One of those rentals that actually exceeds expectations. Stunning house. I had taken slippers and a hot water bottle (big house, big rooms, etc) but they were not needed. Warm and cosy. Spotlessly clean. All comforts considered. Very well stocked kitchen with all appliances/equipment. Beautiful welcome pack including some wine and lovely local products. Costal walks on the door step. Huge outside space, again with all you could need for BBQ etc (too chilly in January!). Very sympathetically done. We had a 60th birthday dinner in the grand dining room, very special. We did go out but the house was so lovely we stayed in more than we might have if we were elsewhere.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you again next year!
Laurence and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing