We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottages - highly recommend”
The Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW Honeysuckle Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The Master Bedroom
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW
Honeysuckle Kitchen
The Enclosed Shared  Garden with Jasmine Cottage.
Twin Bedroom
The play area
Honeysuckle's Decking
Small Hope Beach, Shanklin, 10 min walk.
A Chestnut Mews Red Squirrel
Play House
Honeysuckle Cottage Lounge
The View of Appley Beach from the Beach path. A ten minute walk from the Chestnut Mews.
Family Bathroom
Honeysuckle Kitchen
Play time in the Shared garden
With our compliments
Small Hope Beach Huts. Rentable by the day or week.
Laze about on Shanklin Beach.
Play time on Shanklin's Blue Flag Beaches. Only a ten minutes walk away.
Time for Ice-creams !
One of the Islands many feativals, The Ploughing Match
Priory Bay
Shanklin Old Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louisa R
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottages - highly recommend”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for a week over Easter and hired two cottages (Honeysuckle and Clematis). Both were fantastic, spotlessly clean, bedrooms made up as beautiful as the pictures and had very well equipped kitchens. The cottages are large and spacious with a lovely open plan living area and big kitchen with lots of room to put food away and big fridges. The garden was great with the lawn mowed just before we arrived and we even spotted a couple of red squirrels a few mornings. Use of the nearby indoor pool was an added bonus and we even had this to ourselves one afternoon. The location is fantastic - the lovely end of Shanklin and just a short walk to the beach (though a super quick drive if feeling tired or don't want to carry everything). Easy to get to all areas of the Island too - we ventured to the Needles and also Blackgang Chine in our week (no need to listen to reviews of BC being tired, lots has been very recently repainted, new paths, and fab dinosaurs!). Overall highly recommend to all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality as per the pictures and description online
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic House a real home from home”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed In Chestnut Mews with my husband and two children who are 5 and 2 years old. If you have small children, don't look any further, book this accommodation. It has everything you need from a highchair, toys, stairgates and a fantastic back garden with a great play ground that was very secure. Also the use of a local swimming pool, which is a 2-5 minute walk round the corner, came in handy for bad weather days. This is only small but well heated and clean. The kitchen was well equipped, including plastic plates etc for the kiddies. The whole place was extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. For a rainy day there was a lovely collection of DVD's and games for both adults and children.

The location is extremely good as everything is on your door step. It's only a 2-5 minute walk to the closest shop and pub. The beach is also only a 5-10 minute walk away.

Mandy and Peter were very good in sorting out any problems/questions we had. Also thank you to Mandy's mum for posting the hats we left on the table!! This was done without me even having to ask. We had a fantastic holiday and will be back next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the home from home facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation & Position”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a weeks stay at Honeysuckle Cottage and can't fault it. It is in an excellent location, just 5 mins walk from restaurants in Shanklin Old Village and great for exploring the rest of the Island, The accommodation is spotlessly clean and plenty big enough for our family of 5. Nice garden at the back for the kids to play in with play equipment which is a nice touch.
Loads to do on the Island and the kids loved Blackgang Chine, which is a nice old fashioned park, and great walk from the cottage to Ventnor along the coastal path, although kids insisted on taxi back!

Peter and Mandy were great to deal with from start to finish and a lot of bigger companies could learn a lot from their prompt communications and friendly approach. We have been to the Island many times and this was probably the best overall experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Secluded, child friendly retreat”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Chestnut Mews is a small group of delightful cottages set in a quiet, secluded location. This time we stayed in Jasmine Cottage but have previously stayed in Clematis. Both cottages are fully equipped and beautifully furnished. They are extremely child friendly with a vast array of toys, games, dvd's and Little Tikes garden play area together with baby essentials such as highchair and stair gates. I would highly recommend the cottages and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Parking was a bit tight as we had 2 cars
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sa2125
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic child-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely cottage in a great location. It's very well equipped, and particularly child-friendly with lots of toys, books and DVDs, not to mention the amazing garden full of playhouses, climbing frames and slides, which our children loved playing in. The cottage is in a good location, only a short walk from Old Shanklin and the beach.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing