We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax or use as a base.”
The Patio from ground level.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views
Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Sit and eat while watching the world go by through our mirrored window
Our lounge again from a different angle
Relax on our comfy 2 or 3 seater sofas before heading out for the day or deciding where to eat later
Our comfy lounge
Our fully equipped kitchen plus info corner for all your local and my personal food recommendations
Another view of our fully equipped kitchen area
Our double bedded room
Our double bedroom showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table. With touch lamp light.
This is our twin bedded room. It also has a three brightness touch lamp on the bedside cabinet
Our twin bedded room showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table again with a touch lamp light
Access to your Private patio from the main walkway
This is the view of Culver Cliff and Sandown Bay from our patio
The local sailing club venture out Sunday mornings and a couple of evenings a week.
Picture of the Round the Island Yacht Race, held annually in June.Great view from outside your door.
One of many sunrises you can witness...if your up early enough!!
Sun rise right in front of your dining table window..again though another early get up needed!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel G
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax or use as a base.”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the second time in 3 years we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. We like to use this as a base and explore. The apartment is well quipped if you want to eat in but we like to just have breakfast and there are plenty of places to eat out including the next 3 buildings down. Sara makes you so welcome and the milk in the fridge, tea & coffee in the caddy's, flowers on the table and wine on the side waiting for you is such a lovely touch and saves the panic to shop when you first get there. The view is so good you could just sit on the patio and chill out. The bonus of off street parking and free wifi just tops it all off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the double bed against the wall
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to see you both again. I am so pleased you had another great time and we look forward to seeing you again, as you said in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londoner3...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful location, comfortable, friendly landlady”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

For the self catering holiday this apartment is simply perfect. literally one minute from the main beach, close to all amenities and decorated in its own style with sea themed ornaments. Large TV, electric fireplace. Comfortable beds, extra throws for cold nights. Well equipped kitchen with a bottle of wine and a pint of milk provided. Clean with all little extras provided (gloves, washing up liquid, paper and kitchen towels, etc). Must bring own bath towels, no washing machine. Would suit a couple or a couple with 2 children. It is not very large, but cosy and accommodating. Has a table outside to enjoy sunshine if you do not feel venturing too far. Very welcoming landlady, would go out of her way to make you feel welcome. Parking place just behind the apartment. Manual with sample menus and addresses of doctors ' surgeries, shops and attractions. It is not a marble floor jacuzzi type private small development apartment. But it is a clean comfortable apartment with character which made me and my family feel very rested and relaxed. And the location is simply superb! WiFi is strong I would recommend this apartment with my eyes closed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and character of the property, plus a lovely landlady!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you for you lovely review, if only there was room for a jacuzzi..... It was a pleasure to meet you all and I'm glad you had a good time. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Apartment with the Warmest of Welcomes”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

If you're going to stay in Shanklin, then in my opinion, you want a sea view and to be near the beach. Seagull view ticks both those boxes brilliantly and would be reason enough to stay there. What makes Seagull View so special however, is the wonderful service that the owner Sara provides. We stayed for a week starting at the Easter weekend and not only was there a bottle of wine waiting for us, but a personalised Easter present for our nine year old Son as well. We will definitely be coming back again and cannot recommend Seagull view highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sara's warm welcome (and the view)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad your son (I don't mention names) liked his wooden Easter Bunny, it was made on the Island by a very talented man. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fidgy
kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Seagull View for the first week of September and cannot fault it, Sarah was on hand for any questions and very friendly and helpful. The apartment was right on the seafront and had everything we needed. A massive TV also which my husband loved! It was clean and comfortable with a bottle of wine and fresh flowers waiting. The bus stop is just along the road as are a good choice of eateries and pubs. The lift into Shanklin Town is five minutes walk away. We just loved to sit and watch the boats etc out at sea from the lovely little patio. The mirrored window is a brilliant idea and it was good to have our own parking space. We are hoping to book for next year. A wonderful relaxing holiday. And if you have children the Esplanade has lots for them to do and also the lovely beach and various walks. Also it is very homely and comfortably furnished, like a home from home. Also loved the folder with all the info in and meeting Sophie the Cat. Thank you Sara for a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to choose, if I had to I would say the view of the sea.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words in your review. You certainly did have the best weather while you were here, fortunately it has carried on for a while. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and I am so pleased that you had a pleasant holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place and location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely week at seagull view. Bottle of wine, flowers and coffee etc all waiting for us when we arrived which was a nice touch. Sara the owner is lovely and works in the ice cream shop if needed. (Her ice cream is great too!) we had great weather so spent a lot of time on the beach as it is literally on the doorstep! Was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch people go by, in the evening you can sometimes here the entertainment from hotel next door which we enjoyed and it finished fairly early so wouldn't disturb anyone. My 2 children had a great time and didn't want to come home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
So pleased you had a wonderful time. Your 2 children were adorable and so polite. Thank you for the review you left for us. It makes us very pleased to know that you took the time to write the review and that you all enjoyed yourselves. Glad you liked the Ice cream too!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing