We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

Secluded Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded Courtyard
REAR OF THE RETREAT BBq
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Secluded Courtyard
REAR OF THE RETREAT
BBq
Fine Dining
Space
The Blue Room
Blue Room Ensuite
The Brown Room
Brown Room Ensuite
The Yellow Room
Yellow Room Ensuite
The White Room
Main Bathroom
Shanklin Local Beach
Shanklin Old Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc B
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a fabulous family break. you couldn't find more friendlier hosts met on arrival to show us around and to offer handy tips and advice ,the accommodation is ideally located and definitely first class as holiday accommodation it can't be beaten. perfect in every way the attention to detail is outstanding. Looking forward to a return visit very soon

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
thank you so much for taking the time to review

regards mrs hannan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Grenada
1 review
“Fantastic property, great location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, the property was spacious well equipped. Close to shops, restaurants, takeaways and Shanklin town centre. The owner was on hand to give tips and advice about local facilities. Easy location for getting out and about. Would highly recommend and would definitely rebook if we return to the Isle of Wight. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
thank you so much for taking the time to review we do hope to see you again

mrs hannan luxuryislandholidayhomes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ideal in so many ways!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just spent a week at the retreat in Shanklin and can't explain how wonderful it was. Visited IOW 30 years ago and longed to show our children how beautiful it all is and we sure did. Our house was amazing and so perfect for so many adults and our dog. The neighbours- the owners- were ideal for information but also discreet. We were an easy walking distance to the town ( and loved the Steamer Inn) and the beach. Visited Fine Nammet for our son's birthday and were delighted with the food, the staff and price! Highlight of the week was the model village at Godshill and the Essex pub!! Enjoyed many BBQs in the private garden in the house and the good weather allowed for all the doors to open- felt quite Mediterranean! We can clearly see and agree why every visitor states in the Visitor's book how happy they were here and how they intend to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Ann...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! The house is really big, big enough for 7 of us and the rooms are spacious with bathrooms attached! The house is very well kitted and if you dont fancy eating out, all you need is in that kitchen! They had even given us a starter of eggs, milk, butter and bread! The host parents are great as our van's window was playing up, George (the host dad) helped us fixed it! :) For a friendly stay at Shaklin, I would whole heartly recommend Retreat as its a real treat to pamper yourself to a great place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2014
thanks for your review
my parents will love the bit about them

mrs hannan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therealth...
London, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spacious & comfortable home in handy location”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We decided to visit the IOW on a last minute break with our parents so there were 5 adults & our dog! The house is well designed and its great for each set of adults to have their own bathrooms. The kitchen diner lounge is comfortable and one of the few homes that has big enough sofas to accommodate all guests. The garden is compact & would be great in the summer to sit out in. We stayed during a week in September when the weather was mild but the house is very warm even without any heating or the fire on.
Our only issues are that the pillows could be better quality and the wi-fi connection is poor . You have to connect to to the wireless of the neighbours ( landlords parents). Overall a great house within walking distance of Shanklin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space & bathrooms
Liked least: Poor wi fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing