We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good location, food and atmosphere - recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chestnuts Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good location, food and atmosphere - recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. There is a free parking in front of the hotel, which is located on the street that leads to the Esplanade - 2 min walk! The room was decently sized, clean, with a comfortable bed and TV. We had ensuited shower room, which maybe wasn't big, but was clean and we didn't mind its size. The breakfast was really good. Selection of cereals, yogurts, toasts, full English - it was so tasty! The host advised us where to eat and what it's worth seeing. It's also good to call the hotel and book a ferry through them as they can have a better deal.
I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aniamassao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We have just come back from stopping 2 nights at this B+B and have to say that we would indeed stop again. Service was perfect, not to OTT nor were you ignored....if anything it felt like staying with some family who just made you welome but let you come and go as you pleased,
We stayed in room 7, the room is adequate and the bathroom a touch on the small side but it has all you need and could want.....the room was light and airy despite only having a small window which looked out of the side of the house.....It was quiet at night and so a good nights sleep could be had. there is a small TV in the room adn a wardrobe and chest of drawers so ample storage is available. Breakfast for us can sometimes be non existent past toast or cereal, being veggie some places will not even offer you the 'everything' else part of a full english, but glad to say that Chris provided a good breakfast - tomatoes, mushrooms, fried bread, hash brown, egg and beans, cereal, yoghurt and toast were also available with decent sized pot of tea/coffee thrown in.....
You are perfectly positioned for Shanklin high street (5-10 min walk) and shanklin old town (15-20 mins walk) and the beach and esplande are all but are 3 minute stroll......
We would happily recommend this place to friends and anyone else looking for a friendly, good priced comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Shock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feltham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

if you are staying in shanklin don't bother looking anywhere but here. the rooms hospitality and service are fantastic.
john and chris(tine) are brilliant hosts and make your stay go without a hitch. we have been here twice now and my mother has stayed several times and has already booked us all up for next year.
one word of warning. if you are going to book this guest house don't delay because they get filled up pretty quick. good reviews like this one will not help that, but when you find a place like this it's worth letting everyone know.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

The hotel was close to the beach and the town - all within walking distance - and the room was comfortable, lovely and clean (as was the bathroom). The breakfasts were extremely good, with plenty of choice, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Christine and John. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I booked a night stay at The Chestnuts for my partner's birthday over the May Bank Holiday and was not disappointed with our stay.

We'd had to cancel a previous booking due to a bereavement but Chris and John held our deposit for us and rebooked both the accommodation and the ferry over. During our stay they were very helpful pointing us in the right direction for attractions and were able to recommend places to eat.

We had a room on the ground floor and it had the biggest bed I've ever seen! The room was very clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities, en suite, television, hairdryer etc. The breakfast was good quality, well cooked and plenty of it.

The hotel was in a great situation being within walking distance of the olde worlde high street of Shanklin and the sea front. It was also well situated for getting out and about in the car and it's not far from the Station.

We had a great stay both at the hotel and on the Isle of Wight and I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousemouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 km away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.9 km away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 km away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 km away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
17.5 km away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Private Hotel

Property: The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Address: 4 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price range (per night): $114 - $127
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chestnuts Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chestnuts Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chestnuts Private Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing