We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stopped here because we loved the look of the pub and the views are great. The food wasn't overpriced so we decided to stay for lunch. Unfortunately the roast dinner was disappointing over cooked shriveled beef and the rest was at best average such a let down, stop for a drink admire the view just don't bother with the food and you will leave happy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    76
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We didn't stay here we just ate. My partner had a prawn appetiser starter which was £6.35 the description and price made us think it was a fresh prawn salad, and we were wrong the prawns were from a tin and he said the seafood sauce didn't taste right, later that night he had a very upset stomach and almost didn't make it! For mains my partner had the rump & gammon steak duo £19.50 and I had the sirloin at £16.75 Which was absolutely faultless the steak was thick and perfectly cooked even for well done it was very large portion sizes and I would recommend the side order of onion rings. If you are thinking of a pudding be warned ice cream sundae's are £6 which I thought was ridiculous for a pudding even if we were by the sea, they do have the usual chalk boards with hot and cold desserts priced at £4.50 but we were too stuffed to eat anything else! For a pint of Guinness it was £3.80 which is ridiculous but being a free hold pub they can charge what they wish!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katye1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

My partner and I have stayed in Shanklin for the last two years and on both occasions have had most of our evening meals at The Steamer Inn. We have not tried their B&B so my comments are purely about the evening meals. The menu has a large choice and all the meals we tried were extremely large, well presented and delicious. Even when busy, the service was very good with minimal waiting time. The staff were friendly and polite and we will definitely be eating there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellamescamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Didn't stay here was staying somewhere else but I have to say the food was superb. Plate was stacked high with food, great value for money crab salad £12.25. Could be different when busy but where isn't really.

Gave the rooms a 3 star because we didn't sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Oh dear!, it seems the steamer is trading on it's fabulous location but at the expense of basic hotel requirements such as value for money and quality of rooms.
I attempted to book a room last week only to be told that all they had left was a balcony room priced
at £90. Maybe I was being a little naive thinking that for that rate I would be guaranteed something a little bit better than a standard b&b/guesthouse. Wrong!. Tiny room, tiny tv on wall with no remote, balcony with 2 dirty green plastic chairs, pink bathroom suite with mouldy sealant around fittings. All in all, extremely poor value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 km away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 km away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price range (per night): $85 - $170
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing