We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of High Gables

Dine in style - views across the park to the beach and the famous Steam Train
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dine in style - views across the park to the beach and the famous Steam Train
Open plan, spacious and bright - Views across the parks and lake to the beach High Gables - only minutes from the beach!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Dine in style - views across the park to the beach and the famous Steam Train
Open plan, spacious and bright - Views across the parks and lake to the beach
High Gables - only minutes from the beach!
Open plan living arrangement - perfect for families on holiday
Kitchen Diner with micro breakfast bar
Beautifully equipped bath/shower room with fitted unit and radio mirror
Large and light - you will always get a good nights sleep
Large, bright second bedroom
The best beach for miles around - Goodrington Sands and the headland
The beautiful boating lake situated in the centre of Goodrington Park
The famous Steam Train from Paignton to Kingswear - passes by the park regularly
Large open parkland with boating lake opens right out to the waters edge
Just some of the comments from our Guest book
...some more lovely comments
...even more comments... over 200 so far. Thanks to all those guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel A
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This well equipped apartment has everything you need to keep most children/teenagers occupied even in the worst weather. Its in a great location overlooking the park and beach, its also very conveniently located for the bus and train station.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P
1 review
“Brilliant, just as described, great location”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great week at High Gables. The accommodation was really well kept, clean and of a really high standard. The apartment had plenty of space for our family of 5 (two teenagers and a 4 year old). Both bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, the sofa bed in the lounge was easy to use and comfortable.

The view from the dining table was great, sea to the left, steam trains to the right. The train line was quiet, no through trains, just the steam engines twice an hour during the day.

The private parking space is just opposite the front door as is the park which has boating lakes, a playground and a café. There is a family restaurant/pub at the other side of the park.

The beach is just through the park, a 3 minute walk, and what a beach, great sands, rock pools to explore, beach huts and a row of shops/ice cream stalls just next to the pub/restaurant. The water park is also right there.

The Zoo and supermarkets are a short drive away. The railway station, town centre and cinema are all walkable.

Communication with Mark was great, we got prompt answers to our questions, it was a smooth transaction and everything at the apartment was first rate.

Great apartment, excellent location, we had a really good time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: High standard of apparmtent and great location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philip B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BRILL. Beautiful Well Equiped Apartment. Brill”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just got back from our Holiday in Paignton Devon at this Fabulous Apartment at the High Gables.
Apartment is really really Lovely. Everything you will need is in there. Thank you for the welcome Food and Refreshments, even milk left on arrival. This was Super as we needed them from our long Journey. Much Appreciated. Apartment Lovely, Location Great, Good to watch the steam trains go by. Definitely will be booking again, and be Recommending it all our Family and Friends.
We went with my sister & Husband from Australia and they were over the Moon with it all.
Thank you for a Lovely Holiday, which was made better by your Lovely High Gables Apartment.
Best Wishes to all Concerned.
Who ever is Looking to book this will not be Disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcooke72
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely accommodation and brilliant location.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The apartment was lovely, high standard of cleanliness. We received a warm welcome from the owner and had a fabulous time. The flat had all the facilities we needed. We'll happily return to High Gables in future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slangford...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

An excellent accommodation with all modern appliances and very well looked after. Location is great for adults and kids. A warm welcome with fresh milk, bread, butter and cheese a very nice touch. Would recommend to family and friends and stay again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing