We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Parking at this Hotel, Tired No 3 room in Hotel”
Review of St. Weonards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Weonards Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Yes this hotel is in a fantastic position, but I think we must have had the worse room in the hotel, mouldy and falling to bits shower in the room, very cramped. The view from the room was terrible looking onto the garden area. No Parking as first advertised on the website. The breakfast was lovely, we also received a small gift for Charlie which was a really lovely touch. But once you add on the parking charges at £8.00 a day on top of your stay, you can stay in cheaper places. We did confront the owner about the parking at the start but we did not receive a refund after Booking.com had contacted them which we were disappointed about as it was advertised on the website at the time of us booking the holiday, shame never mind, had a lovely holiday, very close to the beach and other attractions.

Room Tip: Do not stay in No 3 Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrays127, Owner at St. Weonards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

First of all we thank you for your reviews and take your response in to a positive manner.
August is a peak holiday time, free available parking are allocated to families with babies and children.
We will decorate the room before next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice very much recommended everything is perfect very friendly lovely cooked breakfasts will definitely be going back again and again very close to everything to many thanks keeran and julie

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrays127, Owner at St. Weonards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Brilliant couple with a permanent lovely smile.It was our pleasure serving you.Pity your holidays went in a flash.
Best wishes
Keeran and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We came here for a week with our 2 teenage daughters and had a great time.
Keeran and Julie were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Room was comfortable and breakfast excellent with plenty of choice. A great base to see the surrounding areas.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrays127, Owner at St. Weonards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Peter and family
Thank you for staying with us. We too were delighted to have you as a family coming to our place.
Your daughters were very well behaved,a credit to you and Yvonne.
Best wishes
Keeran and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Just came back with my husband and daughter from our 4 night stay, Keeran and Julie are a fabulous couple and nothing is too much trouble. Keeran was wonderful with our little girl, she loved seeing him each day and he very kindly gave her a few gifts as we left. We were made to feel right at home straight away. For my husbands birthday they gave him a card and a bottle of wine, which was so nice of them as I don't know of any b&b owners that would do that for their guests. Room was spacious and airy, coffee/tea facilities in room, very comfy bed, great location, and a wonderful breakfast. I am a very fussy eater but I cleared my plate each day. I hope to stay at St Weonards on my next trip down to Paignton. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SDavies1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrays127, Owner at St. Weonards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Both Julie and myself thank you for your custom.You are a lovely family with an adorable child.It was our pleasure to have met you.You are a great family.
All the best,
Keeran and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I stayed here with my fiancée, and two of our daughters, (15 and 9). We wanted a base in order to visit some National Trust properties in the locality, and St Weonards turned out to be a little gem. It is located literally 4-5 minutes walk from the beach and town centre, and although parking is limited, it didn't present too much hassle.

Julie and Keeran run the place brilliantly and are both very friendly lovely hosts, always smiling and making sure we were looked after.

The breakfasts were excellent quality and ample for us, and were a great start to the day. Julie was happy to go the extra mile, nothing being too much trouble, be it extra toast, tea, coffee, etc. I was impressed that on our second day she remembered all our preferences such as no beans on one plate, no mushrooms or egg on another, etc.

The room was very good, but if I have any criticism, it is that it was roasting in there, even though an electric fan was provided. We kept one of the windows closed as someone in the neighbouring guest house was smoking and it was wafting into our room. However, the second night we opened it as we were just too hot otherwise.

Secondly, the room was listed as a family room, but it had 2 double beds only. I feel this can't really be seen as a criticism as most of the hotels and B & Bs seem to only provide this option. I would prefer it if these places could do a double and two singles or a single with a lower "pull out" type bed integrated as our two girls were top and tailing. However, I can't complain as I knew what was being booked.

Julie was happy to give us advice as to where there were good restaurants, and places to visit, and she and her husband Keeran surprised us with gifts for our girls when we checked out. This was such a lovely thought, and the gifts were personalised, again showing the attention to detail that these hosts display.

We would definitely recommend this guest house, and would have no hesitation in booking here again if we are in the area.

Thank you both for a really lovely stay and making us feel so welcome and special.



Phill

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrays127, Owner at St. Weonards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Sir,
You have taken such trouble to produce a good review .We really appreciate all your lovely comments and suggestions.
Thank you for staying with us.It was indeed a great pleasure meeting all of you.
Best wishes
Keeran and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 km away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.8 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.6 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.2 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Weonards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Weonards Hotel

Address: 12 Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Weonards Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking is available in public car park,charges as per Torbay Council Tariff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your St. Weonards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Weonards Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing