We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Like a little piece of paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Semoussac, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Kristina...
1 review
“Like a little piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 30 May 2019 for a stay in May 2019

In one word: "amazing". This was the best location we ever had, including the best host! From the moment we arrived at Semoussac our holidays started! We had a really warm welcome including a kind of "survival kit" for the first evening with some food and wine.
The house is quite big and provided with everything (or more) you need for holiday. The property is a quiet place at the end of a blind alley (only one neighbor) and surrounded by a fence, so our dogs could do their own business in the garden while we were enjoying the pool.
Although our host is living next door we always had our private space, but they arrived immediately if we needed something!
@Chris and Martin: Thank you for wonderful 18 days! We will come back!

Date of stay: May 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2019
Kristina

Many thanks for such a kind review - we're delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doreenwg6...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful countryside gite”
Reviewed 12 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We enjoyed our 10 days at this very rural gite immensely. The welcoming owners have taken enormous care to ensure every requirement of their guests is fulfilled. It is one of the best equipped properties that we have stayed in. An especially generous welcome pack, including fresh flowers and a chilled bottle of rose, was much appreciated after a long drive. The pool is very clean and the premises are spotless. It was nice to have two good bikes supplied as the terrain around the gite is not too hilly. We would definitely recommend this wonderful property.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2018
That's a very kind review - thank you for taking the time to write it ! Chris is delighted you found the pool to be so clean - and Martin is equally delighted that the gite was spotless ! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay - and that the bike exercise wasn't too exacting ! Martin and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet802582
1 review
“Situated near sunflower fields and vines - a piece of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A beautiful gite with a stunning private pool and garden area. This place provides rest and relaxation in abundance.
Chris and Martin offer a warm welcome on arrival and throughout your stay remain discreet but are always available if required.
The welcome pack is excellent - no need to head to the supermarket on arrival - plenty goodies to enjoy.
The gite is very well equipped and offers a great terrace space for relaxing and watching the world go by with a glass or two! of local wine.
There is up to date information of where to go and what to see should you wish to visit the surronding areas which are beautiful.
Nice places to eat along the estuary with beaches not too far away - lots to do and see should you require it.
Having returned for the past 5 years we never tire of this beautiful spot. Would highly reccomend it to completely recharge the batteries.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2018
Thanks for the review ! It's been a pleasure welcoming you back over the last 5 years - and other family members before that ! Glad we are discrete as ever ! Looking forward to seeing you again next time - the garden (and wine !) await !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6GSR
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JUST PERFECT”
Reviewed 25 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

If you are looking to relax and unwind in a tranquil, beautiful setting in the company of 2 non intrusive gite owners ... look no further.
The gite itself has all you will need, lots of space (both indoors and outsoors), an impeccable pool (Seriously! Sparkling clean!), and the location is just brilliant... St. Emilion, Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Royan, Blaye ... all very quick to reach.
We booked for 2 weeks ... on the second night I actually watched my husband's shoulders visibly relax ... and we immediately rebooked for next summer!
Chris and Martin are perfect hosts and we very much enjoyed our chats and their advice on the area.
Already counting down to our next visit.


Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2018
Su : many thanks for your generous review ! Chris is delighted that the pool was sparkling clean ! We think it's the first time someone's asked to book again within 2 days of having arrived - most at least wait to the end of their holiday ! We look forward to welcoming you all back next year - the cool terrace awaits the lovely Gertie and the pool and view for the 2 legged guests ! Thanks again ! Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthy09
lytham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class.....”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the moment we booked the holiday last year...to saying goodbye..it was faultless. It is true what all the reviews say Chris & Martin really are the best hosts. The attention to detail is what makes the difference.....they want you to have the best holiday experience and will do their utmost to ensure it happens.

The garden room is devine and I could sit for hours looking out at the view...Mick would have spent hours in the pool, but there are so many lovely places to go I had to drag him away! Chris and Martin do give great advice about the locality.

The place was spotless clean and very comfortable.....and no time wasted on our return to spend a day doing all the washing.

I would definitely recommend a stay here you will not be disappointed, Chris and Martin thank you for a very relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
That's a lovely review - many thanks ! We're pleased you managed to drag Mick out of the pool occasionally to sample the delights of local places to visit ! And you returned home without washing to do ! It was a real pleasure welcoming you - you were perfect guests ! Thanks again ! Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.