We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Butterfly Cottage - Idyllic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ekin T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Butterfly Cottage - Idyllic!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say that hasn't been said already. The booking process was straight forward. Bruce and Anita were very punctual in replying to my emails. A warm welcome awaited from Bruce, explaining how everything worked etc. The extras such as the freshly baked bread, flowers, chocolates, wine and dog biscuits were such thoughtful touches and very much appreciated. The cottage itself is beautiful, well presented, very well equipped and extremely cosy, the wood burning stove adding to the ambience. Everything you need is covered. The bathroom was quality, and it was nice to be able to take a bath or have the option of a hand held shower, especially after a long walk. The bed was extremely comfortable and the Alpaca pillows and quilt were fabulous.
The view from the cottage is breathtaking, it was wonderful to be surrounded by natural beauty and there are some great walks right on the doorstep. I came away full of admiration and knowing I need to return, in the not too distant future!

Tracey

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doyster
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lost count of the number of times we've stayed here now. Can't get enough of the beautiful cottage, its a home-from-home for us now! Everything is just spot on and the wonderful little extra touches are an added treat. Flowers, chocolates, wine and the delicious freshly made bread, not many places give such luxury goodies! We love everything about Butterfly Cottage. Anita and Bruce, the owners are so friendly and welcoming. We enjoy meeting all the collies and our collies have fun on visits too. Perfection and bliss - we even saw a little snow on this visit! Nothing at all missing nor is there anything to dislike. Here's to the next stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
It's always lovely to welcome you to the cottage. You are smashing guests to have and we always enjoy seeing your dogs when you bring them as well. Here's to the next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverdal...
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy Pretty Cottage.”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a lovely 4 day break here. Scenery fantastic, even spotted black grouse.

The cottage was cosy, clean comfortable and the hosts extremely concerned everything was to our liking.
We would highly recommend for those that want that quiet break or holiday away and enjoy the countryside. A beautiful place for walks.

The nearby villages have cosy tea shops and places to get a takeway meal if you do not fancy cooking or trying a meal out in one of the surrounding pubs.

Loads of reasons to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your very kind review. Please do come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexiebake...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect winter getaway”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely stay in this peaceful area that was a perfect end to a busy week. We received a very warm welcome and found the cottage to be very cosy. We did have a problem connecting to the internet to check for directions to town for food etc,(some local info was available in the cottage, but, as far as we could tell, a map was not) but this was resolved and could have been avoided with forward planning on our part! The settings on the heating system were a little confusing, but this wasn't too much of an issue. The surrounding area is beautiful, and we enjoyed walking nearby and into the nearby town. We had a lovely time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you for your smashing review and we are so pleased you had a lovely time. Unfortunately internet has been the biggest headache for us and having finally resolved it so it was consistently available throughout the cottage we seem to be back to being able to use it in the bedroom but nowhere else. We have worked out it must be due to the recent blocking up of a door way which has thickened the wall and therefore compromised the booster signal! So for visitors coming during December the internet will only be available in one area of the cottage. Once we get the Christmas holiday season over we will seek advice again about how to boost the signal and will install a stand alone system for the cottage if needs be. Maps are perhaps our second biggest headache! Unfortunately people keep taking them out with them and forgetting to return them and we seem to be spending a small fortune replacing OS maps!! I think my only option is to have a spare supply so when one goes missing I can replace it immediately, rather than putting it on my shopping list! We have had another guest recently comment on the radiator controls so we shall make a note of this and see how guests continue to get on with them. Thank you again. It's always great to get positive feedback and we always aim to act proactively upon anything guests comment on as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sagababe
Scarborough
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay but thought things could be better”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our hosts were away themselves for a couple of days when we arrived, no problem in that, but we didn't see then once during the rest of our stay. Strange given the sentiment of most reviews. The cottage itself is nice enough but; there is no shower (not enough water pressure) / the electric heating system was rather difficult to figure out (even with the manufacturers manual) / despite a log burning stove being in the cottage there was no wood supplied (not even a small supply to get you started) / use of the burner was restricted due to wildlife concerns / advised to air the cottage due to condensation / very "busy" with lots of ornaments and nick nacks (personal opinion only as others might appreciate them) / waterproof mattress cover (making us hot and uncomfortable, in complete contrast to the natural fibre Alpaca quilts which were lovely).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
We are somewhat baffled by your review as it contradicts the reviews you left us on our evaluation sheet and in the visitors book. You said…….. apart from the mattress cover, needing more glasses and one or two other niggles ……. that the cottage was nice and “everything else was spot on”…….. Your actual words. Importantly, you said you would recommend the cottage to others and left your own email address for last minute deal notifications. You have waited 6 weeks to post a very contradictory review on Trip Advisor and we wonder why? You have even gone as far as to say you would not now recommend the cottage, therefore I’m assuming we should remove your email from our data base? So I’m sure you will understand our confusion.

However, we would like you to know we took on board your comments regarding the glassware and have added a larger variety of glasses to the cupboard.

We have stopped using the mattress protector you disliked as it would be foolish to carry on using something a guest feels makes them uncomfortable, taking into consideration the investment we made purchasing an expensive mattress and Alpaca bedding and pillows to improve guest comfort.

I could carry on individually addressing all the other issues you have levelled at us/the cottage, but feel I can succinctly respond to them by saying this; that the amenities in the cottage are clearly described on the web listing and also in the documentation you received from us, before and during your stay. It is the guests’ responsibility to read it and decide if the cottage has the amenities they look for and is the destination for them. If anything was significant or onerous you should have contacted us using any of the contact methods we gave you and we would have done our best to help. Cottage Letting has a large element of self-sufficiency to it and it is therefore the guests’ responsibility to contact the owner if they are unhappy or require assistance. We are always very willing to try our best to respond to guests and this fact is born out from the comments made about us in other reviews. From your other review posts on Trip Advisor it is clear you are well aware of the protocols concerning contacting owners but made a choice, in this instance, not to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing