We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous relaxing weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed from Friday to Sunday in November. Bruce and Anita, the owners, we so helpful - even driving out to meet us when we took the wrong road. There were some lovely little additions when we arrived, bread, wine, box of chocolates and biscuits for the dog. They even organised the fuel for the stove. The cottage is absolutely lovely, with fabulous views. A covering of snow made it more picturesque, and we were snug and very comfortable in the cottage. Would recommend this as a really relaxing break - nicely recharged our batteries before we start the Christmas preparations! Thank you Bruce and Anita.

Mark and Holly

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our break in butterfly cottage. The surrounding area is spectacular and the views from the cottage especially from the veranda were magnificent across the valley. The cottage was spotless and welcoming. The owner Bruce was very helpful and informative on our arrival. We would also recommend a visit to Alston House for a meal. A lovely place with excellent food on our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. We love the view from the balcony too it was one of the reasons we fell in love with the place over 11 years ago! Alston house in only a 15 minute drive away and we take our friends and family there ourselves as the service and food is consistently good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen K
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights in October, it is a lovely cottage and on arrival we had fresh bread, milk, butter chocolates and biscuits for my dog which we thought was a lovely touch.

The owners were very friendly and gave us directions to the nearest shops. The cottage itself was very clean and was decorated beautifully.

There is a large hill going up to the cottage, so maybe not suitable for people with difficulty walking but the walks surrounding the cottage are lovely.

I had shown friends and family pictures of the cottage and everyone has said how lovely it is and a few are even looking to book this cottage for themself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You are right that one of the routes up to the cottage comes up a hill leading up from the Weardale Valley. It is steep but the pay off is the wonderful view but I'd agree if you have mobility problems not one to be tackled on foot. However, everyone who comes here usually does so by car and if they fancy a walk it's only half a mile by car down the bank to the river walk and a couple of miles to the reservoir, which are both flat easy walks and the other road into the property is flatter and will also lead you down into the Valley....these places are where I usually go for walks myself as I do have some mobility problems myself. We are so pleased you had a good time here and we'd love to be able to welcome some of your family and friends in the future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect mini break!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a weekend mini break at Butterfly Cottage to celebrate our anniversary so the flowers, chocolates, wine and scented candles on our arrival got us off to a wonderful start. We took our little dog, Poppy, who was greeted with dog biscuits as well, such a thoughtful touch! The cottage itself was adorable, so tiny but perfectly well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a weekend away. It is located in a beautiful setting with stunning views of the countryside all around. There are also plenty of tourist attractions close by. We enjoyed a walk along Hadrian's Wall and visited High Force Waterfall. Anita and Bruce are extremely helpful hosts who provided us with recommendations on where to have pub dinners and Indian takeaways during our stay. They even baked fresh bread for us! We highly recommend Butterfly Cottage to all our friends and family and would love to visit again one day ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable.
Liked least: Could only get wi-fi in the bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review and we hope you will come again with Poppy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotlipsWe...
west yorks
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Butterfly cottage for 4 nights 31/8 - 4/9/15. The cottage and the area are really peaceful and quiet and the views are breathtaking. The cottage was spotless and very well equipped for everything you need. Bruce and Anita were very welcoming with lovely little added extra's being the home made bread, wine, chocolates and our dog loved the biscuits which was a kind gesture. I loved the butterfly theme that was evident everywhere and so pretty. As previous guests have had issues with the wifi I know this has tried to be rectified but apparently the best area for the signal was on the window side of the cottage. It isn't great but useable for most needs. Would visit this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and its tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back any time. We are finding different devices seem to get differing connections but everyone seems to be able to connect now from somewhere in the cottage and we have a note book laptop available for guests to use which has a very good signal in the cottage if anyone is really struggling with the wifi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing