We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN WELL RUN ESTABLISHMENT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“CLEAN WELL RUN ESTABLISHMENT”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed three nights in Castleview and was pleased with nearly every thing.
it is a beautiful georgian building (historicaly listed) but well up to date and nicely decorated.
Breakfasts were top class and freshly cooked to order by Joan and Margaret and there was allways freshly cut fruits and yoghurts cereals and proper orange juice all of which you can help yourself to as much as you want.
parking was not a problem as they give you a daily pass.
My only grump would be I suppose was that breakfast starts at 7-30am which tended to give me a bit of a rush on the mornings.however this was a small price to pay for staying in an outstanding central location.

Room Tip: if you are in a rush be in the breakfast lounge before 7-30
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks for your great review Paul and very glad you will be in Durham on a regular basis - we will surely be glad to welcome you again.
Margaret, Joan, and Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    45
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
95
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have been traveling for 3 weeks in UK and have stayed in about 8 places some good and some bad.
This was the best by far. Check their website it says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their kingsize rooms they really are value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krueawan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thanks for your great review and the reference to our web site which we have just revised.
Hope you managed to make all of your connections and home safe.
Best regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I'm so glad to have this chance to share with others what a marvellous place the Castle View Guest House, Durham, is. I've stayed there on quite a few occasions now, and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble for them. For instance, I was sitting out in their lovely garden, full of bright spring flowers, on pretty but quite firm garden furniture, and the proprietor rushed out immediately with cushions to give comfort , which made the remarkable view of Durham Cathedral even more enjoyable.. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, with among other things fresh fruit salad, home-made marmalade (as good as my husband's, and that's saying something) and a yummy freshly-cooked Full English Breakfast, such as these days you only allow yourself when you're on holiday! The service is great and the decor of the bedrooms is most tasteful and relaxing - and my beds (I was in two different rooms as they were otherwise fully booked, so I had to change rooms for the second night) were the height of luxury. If you're ever in Durham, you couldn't do better than go to the Castle View Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you so much Caroline for your kind review.
It makes everything so much more worthwhile when we see a lovely response like this.
Anne is very proud of her home made jams and marmalade , the problem being I tend to eat far to much of them with the resultant alteration to my would be sylph like figure.
Please keep coming to visit us, we love to see you.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a cracking guesthouse. It's just ticked all my boxes. Well done. At the time of staying they had just finished renovating my bedroom and it looked great. Just what Id hoped for really. Their website didn't really do it justice. This is more like a boutique hotel. Breakfast was just what an english breakfast should be and Im normally v fussy about them. First time in ages I've actually had a hot plate, why does no one do this anymore?anyway 10 out of 10 . Just upload your photos of your new rooms castleview!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2. Brand new and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silencehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilynemonroe14, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thanks for the positive comments.
As we have just finished renovation works we have still to update our website and photo gallery - but this is next on the agenda.
Best regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

stayed with friends for 3 nights every one enjoyed this lovely old house in the center of this super little city.
All was spic and span with nice rooms comfy beds and lovely breakfasts.
The staff were friendly and helpfull and Anne gave us a lift to the train station when our taxi was late to pick us up.
I usually stay in hotels but I was pleasantly surprised with Castleview.
WE WOULD CERTAINLY STAY AGAIN AND RECCOMEND HIGHLY.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilynmonroe14, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you Peter and gang we enjoyed having you stay.
It was no problem whizzing you up to the station especially given the atrocious weather and pleased you got your train on time.
Welcome back at any time.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.2 km away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
4.4 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.8 km away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#6 of 40 in Durham
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guest House

Property: Castle View Guest House
Address: 4 Crossgate | DH1 4PS, Durham Durham Cit, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price range (per night): $132 - $198
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 century English Heritage Listed Building- restored and decorated to the highest standards. en-suite rooms - with views of castle and cathedral the others looking over the historic street of Crossgate - one of the medieval routes where the ancient road from England to Scotland forded the River Wear and on which the city was originally founded. The house is the closest residential property of all to the town centre and is only a few minutes walk from the castle and cathedral , the historic centre , shopping streets and restaurants. This can mean that the street is sometimes lively and noisy at night usually at weekends due to the fact that we are a prestigious university city with many boisterous young people out and about. We do however have double glazing and the highest quality beds to help you have a goodnight sleep before a full English breakfast cooked fresh to order with cereals , juices , and freshly cut fruit salad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guest House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing