We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous hosts, Claire and Peter.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harrys House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bigmackem
seaham,durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous hosts, Claire and Peter.”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Went on a romantic night away, which I won with an facebook competition run by the ownere of Harrys House. Had a fantastic night, Claire and Peter are marvellous hosts, hot tube was amazing, will be returning in September for a couple of nights this time taking family.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apd2159
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful welcome from Claire. The house had even been trimmed up for Christmas. We had 2 young children with us & they were made very welcome & at home. We will stay there again, but almost resent recommending Harry's House as we want to keep it for ourselves

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O4057WLMa...
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really good - comfortable and welcoming.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Harry's House for 5 days just over a year ago and it was good then but since that time Peter and Claire have made further improvements to the house and garden and it has gone from very good to excellent.
Everything was very clean and comfortable and I really enjoyed the wood fired hot tub.
Peter and Claire were very friendly and helpful.
We just stayed for one night this time but we left our dog boarding with Claire for a week while we were abroad and he was very well looked after.
We would come back to Harry's House again in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
art7273
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, pet friendly place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a gem. We stayed at Harrys as is close to where our friends live but this place has more to offer than convenience of location. The back garden is huge and beautiful with a gas bbq and wood burner hot tub. Even a heated hut to get changed in. The house is lovely but also very dog friendly and well stocked from necessities through to games and books. Great for a romantic stay or with a group of friend if you want to go to Durham or cycling. Would certainly recommend. Owners and neighbours very friendly and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C
1 review
“Homely Cosy with a wonderful "country" garden and fantastic location”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Length of stay 3 - weeks.
Great service and very friendly and accommodating owners.
Location was fantastic and suited our needs, located within easy reach of all major roads.
Local shop and bank within walking distance.
Pet friendly - a massive plus for all those holiday makers who travel with their dogs - excellent location - numerous walks and green areas available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That they accepted Pets as part of the family
Liked least: Garden adjacent to house - but only as had to accompany dogs across the road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing