We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't say enough good things !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harrys House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sling79
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things !”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Last night here and don't want to leave, it's so comfy and homely :)
What makes this place, apart from the amazing garden and hot tub are the owners ! Can't say enough good things about them ! Thanks so much, can't wait to come back x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have recently returned from our second visit to Harry's House in 3 months! The house is incredibly well equipped, warm, cosy and boasting a glorious hot tub......very welcome after a long drive on a Friday night. The owners, Claire and Peter could not do enough for us, providing information on places to walk the dog and the local car parks/Park and Ride. Thankyou for making us all so very welcome and helping us to enjoy a super relaxing break visiting our son. We hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing break, with excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Harry's House was our refuge over Christmas. Claire made us so welcome, and provided such lovely touchs to make us feel at home. Really made our dog feel special too!
The hot tub is definitely the highlight. We had 3 different sets of visitors who all enjoyed the bubbling hot water in the magical gardn setting. In the summer this place would be fab for parties.
The only let down for me was the kitchen. It was adequate but very dated and did not live up to the standard of the rest of the house. That said we cooked Christmas dinner here with produce from local shops and farm shops and had no problems.
Locally takeaways and shops seem good, transport links excellent and the community spirit was really nice. May just have to visit again in the summer and next Christmas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianhcurry
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had fab week end break.Our second visit. The house, garden and hot tub are exCellnet. Very cosy and welcoming. Ideal for aanyone visiting the north east or wanting a change of scenery.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby R
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation with lots of lovely little touches”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Harry's House with our two daughters, 3 and 6. We were warmly welcomed by Claire, the owner who was on hand all through our stay (and indeed since booking) to help with inquiries. The welcome package was a lovely touch and house offered everything we could need, was warm and cosy and beautifully decorated. The girls were very pleased their brightly coloured bedroom and were kept busy with a cupboard full of toys. They absolutely loved the garden with its bar and summer room and of course, the chickens (we were welcomed to help ourselves to their eggs!) I would highly recommend Harry's House to anyone looking for accommodation in the Durham area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing