We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
St Cuthberts Cottage by the stream.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Cuthberts Cottage by the stream.
The old stone wall Cosy wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
St Cuthberts Cottage by the stream.
The old stone wall
Cosy wood burner
Stable door leading to patio and stream
St Cuthbert's cottage
A favourite spot.
Anyone for tea by the stream?
Another comfy seat.
A king sized bed with quality Egyptian cotton sheets
There are lots of lamps to set a cosy mood
Space to sit with friends
A lovely place to sit and read and watch the birds outside.
All the seating is good quality leather
Wifi, tv with freesat and DVD player with selection of films and iPod enabled cd radio player
Living room
View from the rear bedroom
The view from the front bedroom
This is the view from the front bedroom
Tripadvisor certificate of excellence winner in 2012 and 2013
A complimentary welcome pack is provided for stays of three days or more
Children's play area nearby
Tranquil setting.
Welcome pack
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

St Cuthberts cottage is lovley. Near to the church with a small stream behind and access to a path running through a wooded valley it offers a great place to explore the local country side and noth east coast. Not far from the A19. I highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay at St Cuthberts and thank you for your review.

Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally176
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy,relaxing,quiet, immaculate,warm 'get-away-from-it-all' coastal cottage break.”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A warm,cosy but spacious cottage awaits it's guests, a roaring log-burning stove, a welcome hamper (a lovely surprise, including Mick's awesome home-made bread!), immaculately clean, clear instructions.The practicalities are all covered.Mick and Julie are extremely helpful and friendly should you have a query.Cottage located next to babbling brook, a small children's park,wildlife and church, within a quiet village. Located a short drive away (or can walk), to Seaham beach. Seaham is famous for it's sea-glass and Tommy statue by Ray Lonsdale, There are plenty of shops and restaurants.. Whatever you choose to do during the day , its lovely to return to St.Cuthbert's Cottage. My 2 dachshunds relaxed all weekend. Word of warning......you may not want to leave and you will definitely want to return! Many thanks Mick and Julie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay at St Cuthberts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josie R
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 3 nights at the cottage which is in the town where I was born .
Visited child hood memories and met up with cousins I hadn't seen in a while ..
The cottage is lovely and VERY well equipped every thing in it just like home , lovely end cottage with a sun house and a stream at the bottom of the garden outside the gate is a grass area leading to a wood and playground for kids not that we saw any it was lovely and quiet and the dog loved her little walk there .
Mick the owner leaves a lovely food basket with chocolate biscuits ,milk, butter , large carton of orange juice ,crisps , dips , olives , bag of chocolates and more but I mustn't forget the large loaf of home made bread with chives it was delicious . There's was also tea , coffee , 3 different cereals every sauce you would need washing caps if you need to use the washer also dishwasher tablets the bathroom also had everything you would need in there too .
It's near seaham harbour where you can visit TOMMY THE SOLDIER ...A TRIP TO DURHAM CITY IS A MUST TAKES ABOUT 25 MINUTES THE SCENIC WAY . Also Sunderland is about 15 minutes drive along the coast if the ladies like to have a shop .this cottage plus his bed and breakfast at seaham eastshaw guest house gets booked up and I certainly know why now we were lucky and got a late booking due to some one cancelling .
We will certainly be back I'm sure now I know about this place my brother's visit from Australia and America and love to come to seaham the town they were born .
Anything you need to know about the area the lovely owner Mick is happy to help .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your generous review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourself returning to our hometown.

Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMG60
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cosy, welcoming cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Warm and well equipped, thoughtfully arranged, lovely location, very helpful owner and super welcome hamper

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at the cottage.
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself.
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing