We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second Visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia C
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Second Visit”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from another Easter Break in this lovely cottage and had just as good an experience as last time. There are now TVs in the bedrooms plus an I pod deck / alarm clock in the main bedroom. We revisited Beamish and Durham Cathedral and Castle but we also went to Locomotion at Shildon and went on the steam train, great fun. Another highlight was the Bowes Museum where we saw the silver swan in action (look on YouTube). The Botanical Gardens are easy to access and have lovely wooded walks, it was a bit busy as an Easter egg hunt was in progress. We still have masses of things that we would like to visit so will probably return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Dear Julia,
Thank you for your kind remarks. It was lovely to see you and Margaid on a return visit and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage again and thay you managed to see some more of the areas attractions. We would love to welcome you here again next year.
Best Wishes
Dot and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cm_lovely
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to chill out”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Booked this cottage for my two sisters and myself to celebrate a significant family birthday (eldest sister turning 60!). Could not fault the cottage - every consideration for guests had been made. Lovely welcome pack on arrival. Spotlessly clean, plenty of towels, tea towels, toilet rolls etc. Easy access to Durham and other places. Scenery spectacular. Absolutely fantastic place to spend some girlie time together - very relaxing and very quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are really glad you had a good time and enjoyed your birthday celebration. We hope to see you again, best wishes Dot and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel129
Congham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great base for Durham and surrounding area.”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, sympathetically converted, attached to a large, grade 2 listed village house.
Two large bedrooms, both with very well equipped bathrooms. Cosy lounge with log burner, and efficient radiator central heating - all extremely comfortable.
Large kitchen and dining area with everything you might need. A generous welcome pack, bread, milk, jam etc. most thoughtful, and fast wifi, very useful in today's world.
Would certainly stay here again if ever in the North East.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and your visit to the area.
You are most welcome to call in and see us again.
Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissB123
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful, spacious and well equipped.”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage is absolutely beautiful and it's huge, much larger than it looks in the photographs. There are 3 very luxurious bathrooms and good sized lounge and a massive kitchen/dining room. The whole place was very well equipped so we wanted for nothing, even with a small baby in tow- the owners had thought of everything.

We would definitely stay here again if visiting Durham or the North East.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you and your family, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Kerr_3
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“What a find!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having just returned from Wilington Hall Cottage we can't recommend it highly enough. The cottage was immaculate, well furnished and filled with anything you could possibly need from iPod docks to iron and bread to books!

The garden was beautiful, a lovely setting for a leisurely drink in the evening. The owners (who live next door) could not have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Helena,
Thank you for very complimentry review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the cottage, we hope to see you again sometime.
Best Wishes
Dot and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing