We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, stunning apartment which is extremely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom with hairdryer
Main bathroom
Durham Castle
Riverside location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
emmacleme...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, stunning apartment which is extremely well kept.”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was a pleasure to stay here and relax before and after the Great North Run. Very clean and tidy. Very welcoming. Only issue was noise from the nearby pub, but this died down at 11pm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Noise from pub next door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you so much Emma for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JALacy64
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury in the perfect location.”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The location is perfect - right in the heart of Durham. The Lovely terrace was great to sit on, overlooking the river, watching the boats go past. Everything was spotless and top quality. the bedrooms are upstairs and at the back of the property so were very quite, in contrast to the lounge and terrace where you could watch the world go by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
"Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards Chris and Wendy"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duxie2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in the Centre of Durham”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ideal location within easy walking distance of castle, cathedral and university. Secure underground parking . There was extensive detail paid to visitors requirements with every possible need anticipated. Lovely welcome hamper, variety of teas and nespresso machine. Cooking facilities excellent. Quiet comfortable apartment ,minimal city sounds from the nearby restaurants only audible if windows open and disappear by midnight, so not intrusive at all even for a very light sleeper. Lovely balcony with chairs to sit out overlooking river. Strongly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful balcony overlooking river
Liked least: Absence of washing machine powder (only missing item!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacifika2...
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is about as good as it gets for vacation rentals”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very pleasant, modern and well appointed two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, two-floor apartment, about 200 m from Elvet Bridge, with a balcony looking straight down onto the River Wear and less than five minutes walk from the Durham Market Square. In addition to a full kitchen, dishwasher and combined clothes washer/dryer, there are a lot of thoughtful extras like an espresso machine, and a welcome basket of local goodies. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms include lovely soaps and shampoo. This is about as good as it gets for vacation rentals (we were there for a week); and is strongly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone and are so pleased that we met your high standards.
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb location, spotless flat”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Superb location on the river right in Durham City.
Friendly host on arrival. Great safe private parking in the underground car park. Splendid arrival pack - I won't spoil the treats.
Entire place spotlessly clean, very well appointed. Comfortable beds.
I couldn't recommend this place enough. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Durham.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Hi Jonathan,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing