We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom with hairdryer
Main bathroom
Durham Castle
Riverside location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stardust...
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well appointed in great location”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Fantastic location, five minutes to Cathedral or City Centre. Modern, comfortable and well furnished with a great kitchen. The owners supplied a welcome basket of tea, wine, coffee, cookies, juice and milk. There were plenty of toiletries and kitchen supplies. Underground parking is very convenient - a necessity in this part of the city. We enjoyed watching the rowers go by outside the living room window. The owners are very helpful, and keep the place spotless. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Well-stocked kitchen. Nespresso machine with free coffee.
Liked least: Some noise from a nearby bar on afraid any night. Not a problem iff you keep the windows closed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2013
Thank you ever so much for comments and the really encouraging feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we aim to please. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The parking was a bit complicated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Professor...
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and spacious apartment woith lovely riverside location”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We really enjoyed our two nights here and just wish our stay had been longer. The hosts anticipate a guest's needs and aside from a welcome basket full of goodies also supplied milk, nespresso coffee capsules, orange juice and a bag of ice cubes. Internet/wifi excellent, furniture and fittings five star +. Offered to pick us up from train station and take us there. So hosts get 5 stars ++ too. we ate our dinner on the area outside dining room by the river. Beautiful and tranquil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Strong floral smell on the linen - but that's me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and kind words. We aim to please to and make your stay as pleasurable as possible in the hope that you will return next year.

Many thanks once again
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Fantastic apartment w/ high quality fixtures dream location & superb hosts”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Every aspect of our stay was ideal. Quality of all fixtures and host helpfulness made this apartment our favorite in a 6 week Europe vacation. Owners are well prepared and go the extra mile to make their guest welcome and comfortable. The historic town of Durham is small enough that you can enter and exit easily to enjoy surrounding areas...or stay put and relax after the hectic most vacations turn into.
This apartment & location were the best surprise of a well planned European adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location on river near center og historic town
Liked least: wish we had stayed longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We endeavour to provide hotel standard accommodation with a personal touch and home comforts, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Kind Regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Riverside balcony
Liked least: Lack of anywhere to put a drink (except floor) whilst in lounge area - very minor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for such great feedback. We are a family run business aiming to provide the highest of standards in hygiene and facilities. We try our best to accommodate any special requests to ensure a relaxed and comfortable stay.
Thank you again for your kind response.
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing