We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No where better to stay in the area!!”
Holiday cottages durham
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday cottages durham
Durham farm cottages County Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Holiday cottages durham
Durham farm cottages
County Durham
Stowhouse farm cottages
Durham holidays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonnyD196...
Richhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No where better to stay in the area!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed at these cottages for years now as a base to visit family. I can think of no where else I would book. The cottages are brilliantly located, close to lots of attractions and close to the A68 and relatively close to the A1. They are the most comfortable and well equipped cottages I have ever stayed in.....a lot of thought has gone in to the tiniest detail, especially in the kitchen.
If you are looking for peace and quiet look no further, there is nothing nicer than sitting outside in the late evening sun with a glass of wine when the only sounds you hear are sheep and the birds settling down for the night....these cottages have it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped the cottage is.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind review. Hopefully see you all again soon.
Best wishes Keith and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving at the cottages we were immediately impressed by the clean, tidy and well maintained area beside and around about. We stayed with family at cornmill cottage and it is a bit like a 'tardis' open the door and it is much larger than expected. Each bedroom - 3 of them - were lovely fresh and very clean. The large diner kitchen with stone features was the hub for us. It was very well equipped with crockery, utensils etc. lounge area has very comfy sofas and chairs plenty seating for 6 adults. Keith and jane are very welcoming and we much appreciated the little gifts they left as it was easter and our wedding anniversary. Very thoughtful touches. We would have no hesitation on returning to stowhouse farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage itself - cornmill
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Dear Janette,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you all again.

Keith and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamrth...
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I have travelled a lot the last two years and have to rate the cottages as the most peaceful and relaxing place I've been. Our cottage was beautiful. The owner showed us around all of the cottages and they are all very individualistic of various sizes but all extremely clean and well cared for. They are close by to beautiful Lanchester and Durham City.
The lovely owners even gave us some of their hens eggs which were the biggest and best I've ever had. My wife and I had a great stay and cannot recommend the cottages too much.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Dear Graham,

Thank you for your review, and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you both again.

Keith and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passenger...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect, cleanest cottage we've ever stayed in. Lovely little touches like milk in the fridge (Keith knew we travelled from abroad and arrived late), he put the heating on for us also. He allowed a late check out as the cottage was not being used that day, this helped as we had a funeral to prepare for. True kindness

Beautifully comfortable beds and high quality bedding, all smelt fresh and just washed. Bathroom was light and airy with some travel sized cosmetics. Lovely fire in the lounge made for really relaxing evenings.

Children enjoyed all the animals and we had lovely walks. We also enjoyed some steep hill running just outside the entrance.

Kitchen was well stocked and we appreciated the washing up liquid and sponge!

Thanks for a brilliant stay and all your kindness Keith. We wish you all the best and would return to the cottages (hopefully in nicer circumstances)

Katherine and family from Germany

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Stowhouse Farm Cottages and that your stay in Ivy Cottage was comfortable. We hope you had a good journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best wishes Keith and Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location on northern peaks. Very quiet, surrounded by sheep and wind turbines. The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Great welcome from Keith and Jane with tea, coffee and fresh eggs from their own chickens. Enjoyed the Washington Wetland Centre and Beemish museum during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bed was a bit hard and too hot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again.

Keith & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing