We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
122
107
37
8
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
107
37
8
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petrol station travel lodge stayed here breakfast facilities spar shop breakfast box car wash kfc opposite convenient location budget hotel nearest pub car park room was spacious and clean brilliant staff double bed shower gel a ground floor room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Stopped over for one night Friday 14th Sept together with my wife & 2 dogs. We stayed in a family room. We were greeted with a warm welcome & some good dog friendly advice from Emma as to where to walk the dogs on a local beach. The family room was well equipped and perfect for an overnight stop on our way home from Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank jem2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Had a last minute change of plans on a cycle tour, found this place online. Room was clean, large & well equipped. Staff were very helpful & we were able to take our bikes into our room for safe storage.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed here this week, location is on a busy services area right next to a kfc. I had a nice large double room that was clean but overlooked the car park. Unfortunately this was quite noisy during the night due to boy racers using the car park for a couple of hours.Not much around so you need a taxi to reach the nearest pub/restaurant as the hotel does not have one. Receptionist was lovely and arranged taxis with no issues.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank IanPLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for reviewing our Barnstaple Travelodge.

We're really pleased you hear the cleanliness was up to standards and you had a nice large double room.

We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities.

It is regrettable to hear this was not enough to guarantee a good night stay for you.

Feedback is invaluable and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed for two nights. Staff were very nice, room was clean and comfortable. We normally stay in Premier Inns, but this Travelodge exceeded our expectations.

It’s located off a roundabout, with a KFC, petrol station with a Spar shop, and mechanical car wash right close by. There’s also some shops like Sainsburys, Dunelm, Home Bargains, Poundstretcher and a McDonald’s within walking distance along the grass verge.

A family room has a large double bed and pull out beds (beneath the double bed) that can be made up a single beds. So not a proper single bed, as I was informed by Travelodge when I rang them to ask.

The first floor has no lift, only stairs and there’s no air conditioning, but just a window in the room that opens about 4 inches, which is the same as Premier Inn. I think it’s to avoid falls from windows, but it’s not pleasant when the heat wave is on, back in the summer. We were loaned a desk fan for the room. There is a vending machine and air conditioning in the foyer. The car park seems to be shared with punters eating the KFC’s. It’s a short taxi ride (about £7.00) one way, into the main town of Barnstaple. The Sainsburys and Dunelm has Café’s so you might breakfast there.

We’d definitely stay again at a Travelodge.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

We checked in as a couple with a dog. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The receptionist was extremely kind and allowed me to use an access toilet before we had completed the check in. The room was very spacious and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Our labrador wanted to join us but we persuaded her to stay on the floor! A hair dryer was borrowed from reception and was one with a decent motor, so drying my long hair did not take hours! There was no traffic noise from outside and very little noise (apart from us letting the room door slam because we didn’t realise how strong its spring was)from inside either. A very dog-friendly place with various eateries very nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank EveyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews