We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent !”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HeatherCW
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A large group of us stayed in this property for our friends 30th Birthday. The house was absolutely perfect, great garden and the jacuzzi was brilliant! We were surprised to find the 'observatory' room up on the 3rd floor which offered amazing views of the sea and the sunset. Everyone slept well in comfy beds and their was plenty of space for us all in the communal areas. There was an endless amount of plates, cutlery and fridge/freezer space. I would definitely recommend.

The only negative comments I have is that it would be nice if there was basic things like tea/coffee/sugar and dishwasher tablets, these are basic amenities that you are usually provided with. It would also have been nice to have been provided with more logs for the fire, we had been given enough to light a fire, but couldn't find anymore.. which seems a little pointless!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
It is great to hear that you had a great break and special birthday celebration at Roa Island House, thank you for telling us about your time there. The observatory room certainly sounds like the best kind of surprise - enjoying the views and the sunset from that vantage point sounds fabulous! We certainly hope that you return for another visit soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H
1 review
“Great house fantastic location”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Main house and bedrooms were very good. The conservatory needs to be updated furniture not adequate too many tables and chairs not enough comfy chairs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillers74
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Island Escape!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights with 9 friends. The house is exceptional, it definitely catered well for all of us with plenty of kitchen equipment. The seating areas, hot tub etc were very well planned out and the rooms were lovely too. All the bathrooms appeared brand new and we really couldn't have asked for more.
The oven is in need of an update as it was very slow and unpredictable but otherwise we had everything we needed to cook breakfast/ dinner (albeit a simple one given oven situ)
The location of the house is very remote, but there is a brilliant cafe next door and to be honest, other than a trip to Ulverston and to the Wax Lyrical Outlet (highly recommended) staying in at the house was perfect.
It's likely we would go and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General size and quality of the house/ rooms
Liked least: The oven
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Su C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great venue for a large group”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in October 2014 with a group of friends, 12 of us in total. It's a great venue with fabulous views from some of bedrooms. A bit of a strange set up with the bedrooms downstairs but all very adequate. Only a few gripes, as we were doing all our own cooking I thought it a bit strange there was not a kitchen knife to be found, an essential bit of kit I would think. The kitchen was very dated and tired, the oven was a bit hard to fathom and there was not enough cupboard space to store the food we had brought. The hot tub was a great asset but very small. The open fire in the living room was just lovely but it was a squeeze getting everyone in on a nightime, we had to utilise the chairs from the dining room. The house is large and there are plenty of places for guests to spread out and do there own thing. It has obviously been a fabulous house in its day and it's a shame it's not more cared for, weeds on the drive and the back garden is not great, a little more care and attention to detail could really make this place special. Our group did have a lovely time in this great house but I'm afraid I would only return if it were to be upgraded. This building has so much potential.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRONFIELD DERBYSHIRE
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing