We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterview Deluxe Apartments(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 111
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrie Guest House(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
593
153
74
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
153
74
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscars restaurantwedding venuestunning hotelwowcher dealprincess suitelovely groundsmain buildingsummer suitethe wow factorchristmas decorationsdeluxe roomeggs benedictmy partnerwedding guestsmain coursehigh standardrestaurant manager
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here last month for a family wedding, located in the Lake District. Could not fault the location as the grounds were stunning with some picturesque views. The hotel was just as nice, and rooms were amazing.
Only negative was that I booked a twin room but they gave me a double, reception was more than helpful and managed to swap my room for second night.
Drink price is typical of any hotel and a little overpriced, my booking included breakfast which was a hot and cold buffet with additional menu.
The wedding itself was beautiful inside the grand hall and then in one of the event rooms afterwards and again nothing could be faulted. All made a perfect weekend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear David W,
Thanks very much indeed for your feedback, I was thrilled to read that you had a faultless time attending an Abbey House wedding! I was glad to read that the reception team were able to help with the room allocation and hope we will see you at Abbey House again in the future.
Warm Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Wow, wow, and wow!!!! From the moment we pulled up to view this stunning venue we fell in love!!! The house and grounds were truly breathtaking!!! Our experience only got better when we went in to be greeted by the hotel manager, John, who was the kindest and most genuine man you could hope to meet. He made us very relaxed and went through my million questions slowly, following with a lovely tour. He put us under no pressure at all to book and let us go away and take all the time we needed to make such an important decision. Not that we needed much time. We knew this was the venue for us to begin the next chapter of our lives. The food was amazing (which we sampled on every visit) the staff were all so polite and helpful at every visit and every phone call and email and we were always made to feel special even though they deal with so many brides and grooms.

On the day the whole team were fantastic, following all my diagrams of how I wanted things laid out, so perfectly, with nothing being too much trouble. They even got our special sweet requests for us for our candy buffet! The food was outstanding and every guest commented on it! Every room was gorgeous - particularly the princess suite we stayed in on the wedding night - its bigger than our house!

Cameron was our master of ceremonies and was so fantastic. He was always there on hand for anything we needed and so cheery!!!

A few of our guests stayed the night before or the night after to make it a longer weekend and every one of them said they would go back. Breakfast was a huge hit too!!!
The only thing I would point out is that if you are staying as not a part of a wedding or function then request a room not over the function rooms, as the noise can be a little loud in the rooms directly above, although everything is quiet by midnight.

All in all we cannot reccommend this hotel enough. Particularly as a wedding venue but even as a stunning base for a weekend in the lakes with great food, rooms and staff. We plan to return at least once a year :D xxx

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank sezisayssso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sarah, Andrew & Maisie,
Thank you so much for your kind words! High praise indeed, I was thrilled to read that you had a wonderful wedding with us at Abbey House Hotel & Gardens. It was a pleasure to look after you all on your wedding journey and we can't wait to see you back to the hotel again for your many anniversaries to come!
Warm Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This hotel is such a disappointment, on the plus side we were impressed by the beautiful building, grounds and the fantastic room. The downside is that this is an event hotel (weddings etc) which meant we were subjected to live music until the early hours which despite being in another part of the hotel still made the glass in the windows vibrate with the bass notes, we could clearly make out every lyric from every song. Following this we then had the drunken door slamming, shouts of Good Night up and down the corridor and people fighting and screaming outside of the window.
To sum up, this would be a great place to have a wedding but definitely not recommended for a relaxing break if an event is on.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else if an event is on
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Steve L,
I was sorry to read your recent review. We do our utmost to ensure that all guests booking directly with the hotel, and where we can with third party bookings, that all guests are aware of what to expect so they can make an informed choice of where they wish to stay. I'm sorry you had a disturbed visit but hope you will try us again.
Kind Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed a the Abbey House Hotel , stunning hotel set in its own grounds easy parking, very helpful staff, nothing was a problem , enjoyed the food and the room was very nice , we where in a newish section , the only slight issue which we where pre warned about was the noise from a wedding below us this stopped at midnight and personally did not affect us.
Very happy with location , staff and food.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tig28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear tig28,
Thanks very much for your recent review, I was very pleased to read that the event didn't affect your stay too badly and hope to see you back again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We were four, one registered blind one partially immobile. We arrived late (well after 2100 hours) . Our luggage was taken to our rooms and we were led into the restaurant for an excellent dinner. Breakfast was excellent buffet style but we were given help.
The staff were considerate in all departments .
It was a sad occasion for us but somehow the staff had second sight.
We have been before and were impressed and this impression was confirmed.
Next we need to visit Barrow we will return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: The software is not working but we give them maximum points above. When booking speak to Rebecca who will give advice on the room for you.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank langman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear langman2016,
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I was so pleased to read you were looked after at a very difficult time.
we look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey House Hotel & Gardens.
Kind Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews