We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Best Rental Ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Sunny patio in well tended garden Light and airy living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Sunny patio in well tended garden
Light and airy living area
Oak flooring and leather furnishings
Dining for six
Watch the local wildlife over breakfast
Dining kitchen fully equipped with modern appliances
Light and airy kitchen
Teal double bedroom
Green double bedroom with views
Bunk room
Bunks, still room to play and storage
Conservatory ideal for cuppa on sunny day
Bath with shower over
Modern tiled mathroom
Sun yourself on the terrace
Roaring fire in Winter
Dining for 6 plus breakfast kitchen for 4
Rear garden looking towards kichen and conservatory
Steps down to covered stream running through garden (covered and kid safe)
Our local pheasant, frequent visitor often with his gal posse
Latest addition to garden, great for morning cuppa!
We said play outside, we didnt expect the laptop to go too!
Aaaaahhhhh.......
Rear of cottage at night, twinkling stars
Take a seat with panoramic view of lake (20 mins walk)
Panormanic view of lake Windermere
Scenery on a spring walk across the fells to the pub
Spring lamb on a sunny day
Local art work above dining area
Parking for 3 cars, enclosed garden and bike storage in shed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TonibmeCh...
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our Best Rental Ever!”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We travel and don't often review our rentals. This one was perfect in every way - has all the whistles and bells we always look for in a rental. Abundant storage space, roomy, has any amenity, appliance and utensil you could possibly need. Beau, serene rooms and garden. Photos include nearby walks. Close to shopping, restaurants and pubs, yet far enough for peace and quiet. Love watching the birds & butterflies in the garden. Loved the convenience and attention to detail. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next year. Please get in touch and we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segantii6...
Lytham St Annes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winterfell ”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Superbly situated and well equipped, Winterfell has a beautiful garden and makes a great base from which to explore the Lakes. A stone's throw from the shores of Lake Windermere and a mile from the Ferry (bike and boat hire). This means you can easily get over to the West side of the Lake. We took our bikes and found some great trails around Claife Heights and Grizdale. If you take the path (turn right outside front gate), you can get over to the Winster Valley. The Brown Horse Pub is an easy walk via Rosswaite Fell. Great pint of Wainwright and excellent fish and chips! Pre book to avoid disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
I see you found the gin cocktails at The Brown Horse, my favourite! A pleasant walk from the house and well earned if you cycled! So glad you enjoyed your stay, please do book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeacherPa...
BeacherPaul
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A relaxing weekend in the Lakes”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Winterfell Cottage is the perfect place to stay in the Lakes for a relaxing weekend with nice pubs, walks and days out on your doorstep. The cottage is well appointed - warm and cosy, with a beautiful garden surrounding. Perfect for a family or friends getaway. 5 star stay!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you so much - hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matildaca...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

4 of us stayed in July. H&W plus one 18 year old and a 21 year old!. Accommodation is very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Only issue is slow WiFi but hey, it's the Lake District and is part for the course. It's a good base to explore but really need a car to get around. After a long day walking it makes all the difference getting back to such a lovely cottage. We would definitely come back. The Masons Arms at Cartmel Fell is well worth a treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time soon. We love our cottage and glad to see that others do too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie...
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Home in the Lakes I wish I could have”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

beautiful house with much loved garden. secluded / quiet yet close to so much of the lakes. Wonderfully equipped with lots of parking. We had a wonderful week where we walked (low and high level) / went for ferry rides on Windermere / ate far to much yummy icecream and enjoyed the peacefulness of the garden.
Winterfell is outstanding and we will be back as so much still to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole set up - house plus garden
Liked least: we liked everythig
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
What a lovely review thank you. Please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing