We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
79
115
79
46
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
115
79
46
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly pub pay and display family room full english tea and coffee facilities would stay again four poster bed macdonald hotel weekend break the location is perfect suite lake
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place on Saturday at 12.15 to watch the football , walked in the pub it was reasonably busy approached the bar there were at least 8 people waiting to be served ordering food / drinks and one member of staff serving . Felt really sorry for her , I waited for about 5 minutes then left , can’t believe one member of staff on for a big game of football obviously they don’t need the business ,

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank happy63Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

stayed here for the first time and it will be our last time the bed was hard as nails the pillows were lumpy the fan in the bathroom kept turning its self on and off making a noise the shower cubical had rust around the bottom of it the room was old and dated we were kept awake till 2am with shouting and bellowing in the street below our window although this is not the stags heads fault if want to have a friendly drink then as a pub it good but i think they need a refurbisment in the rooms to let them out starting with new beds we always normally stay at macdonalds yes it is alot dearer but worth it tomatoes on breakfast were cold and tea tasteless

Room Tip: we stayed in the best room so heavens knows what the others are like
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

This was the second time my partner and I have had a two night stay at the Stag's Head. Both times we have had the same suite which has a four poster bed and a comfortable lounge area.
Breakfast was included and there was plenty to choose from.
I struggled a bit to regulate the water in the shower but that was my only quibble.
We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday so there was no entertainment in the pub downstairs but I think it would be noisy on the weekends.
Staff were friendly and helpful. The previous guests had broken the tv remote, which was replaced for us at the earliest opportunity.
The location is excellent- two minutes from the lake and central for the town.
Plenty restaurants to choose from with a variety of cuisines.
There is no parking but you can unload in front and take things to your room before moving the car. There is a public car park five minutes walk away where you can get a 3 day ticket for £15 which is the best deal.
Overall we had a comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Sited in central Bowness near to pubs and restaurants and the lake and its amenities.
Good beer and reasonable food.
The rooms were old fashioned but clean.
Staff and locals very friendly.
Very good breakfast .
Parking is away from hotel in a public car park abut £10 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

popped in today with my partner and son and the food was not good, I got a chilli burger which was basically what seem like a school burger with a load of what seemed like philidelphia cheese shoved on it, no lettuce no onion? and the chilli relish it came with actually tasted off so that never got touched and the burger tasted awful , my partner had the gammon and she said that wasn't up to much and tasted like it had been boiled, it seems like my son got the best meal with his chicken nuggets, only good thing about it was it was cheap, staff stood around chatting right next to our table, playing on the slot machines all in all not very professional

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews